Programming Notes

In two parts.

The first is alternately titled: I Don’t Even Know Who We Are Anymore.

Today, I sent this romantic text to my love: “u+me+carryout+history channel = perfect valentine’s night.”

I know, right?

The History Channel?

I remember one night over the summer, Matt and I watched some show on The History Channel about how state lines were determined when states were being formed. It was really interesting, and we both commented that The History Channel has gotten a lot cooler over the years. And then we looked at each other and died laughing, realizing that we had just gotten a thousand times lamer; the channel probably hasn’t changed all that much.

However, on Monday nights, we very much enjoy American Pickers and Pawn Stars, and have for a long time (though, I have to admit, I don’t have a clue what’s on that channel the rest of the week). So after the kiddos were in bed, Matt picked up Chipotle and we watched Pickers. We’re so hooked on that show that when we drive stretches of interstate in Illinois, we look for places that would be good picks for Mike and Frank. Because we’re on a first-name basis with them and stuff. I totally get the intrigue in picking honestly; my dad is kind of a picker, too, so I think it’s in my blood.

18-year-old Nicole is laughing her you-know-what off right now, seeing the 33-year-old version of herself actually enjoying watching The History Channel.

—–

The second half of this post could also be called “I’m Pretty Sure the Disney Channel Hates Me.”

One time, years ago, Cartoon Network messed up my daily schedule. And now, Disney has gone and done the same garbage with their programming.

Do they not know that Jack Henry gets up between 5:45 and 6:30 almost every day? And that we generally don’t like him up and roaming the house until 7am, after both of us have had quiet time and maybe shut our eyes for a few more minutes?

This morning, Finding Nemo was on. Which is great – Jack Henry loves that movie. However, in looking at the daily schedule, it appears that Nemo was an anomaly, and that they have now moved all of their most craptastic programming to early morning. Timmy Time (worst show ever made – even JH hates it), Chuggington (second worst show ever made), Imagination Movers (horribly annoying and not entertaining) and Special Agent Oso (who makes my head want to explode) are now the 5:30-7:30 lineup.

For the love: bring back the Handy Manny and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse marathons.

I was pleasantly surprised to find Clifford on during the 6:00 hour this morning on PBS Kids, so it looks like we’ll be switching until further notice.

UPDATED TO ADD: Handy Manny showed up at 6:30 this morning, despite what the lineup said, and Oso wasn’t right before him, so I have no idea what’s going on.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone 🙂

12 responses to “Programming Notes

  1. The History Channel comment made me laugh out loud. . . Sadly, these are the types of comments I make to myself and laugh out load about on a nightly basis. Nerdsville: Population 1 (okay, maybe 3) 🙂

  2. If it makes you feel any better, we are currently watching Pawn Stars on Netflix and we LOVE American Pickers!! We are anxiously awaiting the next season to come out so we can watch it. If you are lame, then I guess I am too! 🙂

  3. Part 1: I’m just laughing at this whole thing!! I’m gonna have to tune in to the History Channel–I never watch it!

    Part 2: This would tick me off something fierce, 1st b/c I’m just generally not a happy person in the wee hrs of the morn & 2nd b/c of the dumb program offerings.

  4. Our Disney is still showing Little Einsteins from 6 – 7 – but we have 2 disney channels because we have dish network….. so that could be why we still have no problem in that area. I agree – clifford is a much better choice then the others…. although I do find myself singing the chugginton theme song around the house – it is kind of catchy… 🙂

  5. Part 1: Ian and I sit and watch the History Channel so much so that sometimes the boys will sit and watch with us!

    Part 2: I am also upset by Disney changing their line up, even though my child will be almost 6, he still wants to sit and watch Handy Manny and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse before school and while I get ready. I feel your pain. Instead, I have DVR’d plenty of Phineas and Ferb and Battle Force 5! Whew! Saved!
    I know I say this a lot to you but I really enjoy reading your blog. I get so many ideas from your posts. You are so creative!

  6. Awwww….we had the same date last night. Me and Dave and Mike and Frank. Romance!

    Dave was obsessed with the state lines show. Like talked about it randomly for weeks 🙂

  7. Jennifer Newton Bunton

    I too was disappointed when Nemo was on yesterday morning. This morning though it was back to Handy Manny and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse at 7. Hopefully it stays that way!

  8. Cole takes offense to the imagination movers comment…his favorite show. :). I, too, hate when they mess up scheduling. I’ve learned to keep a couple faves dvr’d if such a case arises. :). And pickers? Watched it once and couldn’t bring myself to change the channel. Then again, I’m already 34.

  9. We don’t have TV, but we spent Friday night and Saturday at Dan’s parents (which allowed us to go on a date Friday night, then take it easy on Saturday… kind of our V-day celebration since we had college group last night). Let’s just say that we spent some quality time together on the couch watching American Pickers – reruns, maybe? 🙂 It was the first we’d seen it (we’ve seen the Pawn Stars show before). Glad to know we’re in good company!

  10. N, great post. If it’s any consolation, the History Channel is one of our favorites. We watched American Pickers on our vacation. Dorks R We. 🙂

  11. We saw the same show on how the state lines were formed.

    Loved it.

    There. I’ll be an old fart with you!!!

    Part 2: Don’t you have a DVR????? Record some of his favorite shows and play them over and over!

    • I do have DVR; it’s just not in our room. We need to bring some DVDs up there so that he can watch and still be in our room.

      Yay for being old farts together 🙂

Talk to me!

