An Old Favorite

Matt reminded me of this story today at breakfast, and since we got such a good laugh out of it again (as did Bennett this time, since he understands a little bit better now, though he is still somewhat perplexed by the figure of speech “bringing home the bacon”), I decided to rerun it…

bennett at 3

Best Misunderstanding Ever

This made me laugh until my sides hurt today at lunch.

At meals, after our prayer, we say something that we’re thankful for. Everyday for as long as I can remember, Bennett has said he’s thankful for “Jack being healthy” whether he is or not at the time. So, we’ve told him he can still say that, but he also needs to be thankful for something else. His friend Layla is over to play this morning, so I said “I’m thankful that Layla came over today.” And he said, “Yeah, me too. Oh, and I’m thankful that Dad’s getting meat at work.”

I said, “What? Do you mean eating meat for lunch?”

He replied, “I don’t know for sure.” He looked a bit confused.

I thought for a minute and asked, “Did Dad say something today about ‘bringing home the bacon’ before he left for work?”

Bennett said, “Yeah, he did!”

At this point, I had to leave the room I was laughing so hard. I had to preserve this little gem for posterity.

4 responses to “An Old Favorite

  1. A true Bennett classic! 🙂

  2. That IS a good one!

  3. hehehe I love it!

  4. CLASSIC!

Talk to me!

