A Different Kind of Date Night

I decided last week that I wanted to have some one-on-one time with each of the boys…a scheduled little date night. We flipped a coin today and Luke won, so it was his turn.

But let me back up a bit.

Luke lost a tooth this morning. Well, I pulled it, so “lost” is a misnomer, but whatever. Which means that the tooth fairy is due to visit tonight. Except…

…Matt and I had discussed a long time ago that 2010 would be the last Christmas that Luke believed in Santa (or the Easter Bunny or Tooth Fairy). We kind of chickened out about telling him Santa wasn’t real back in January, and just figured that we’d do it sometime before Easter. So losing a tooth was the perfect opportunity.

We asked him to come upstairs and talk with us about something, and he had a very curious look on his face. In a relatively short and sweet conversation, we broke the news to him. He didn’t seem overly surprised, but also swore that he didn’t already know the truth (and he’s a pretty bad liar, so I think I would have been able to tell). He also said that he hadn’t believed in the Easter Bunny for a couple of years (and we just barely talk about it anyway, so this came as no surprise to me). We reassured him that he’d still get Santa gifts, and that the Tooth Fairy would still visit, etc…and stressed to him how important it was to not tell his brothers or friends. We’ll see how that goes, because I’m pretty sure that as soon as my brother Jake knew, Zach knew, also.

Then the two of us left for our evening, and we just had the greatest little talk, most of which I won’t share here. One thing I asked him was if he was sad to know the truth, and he said, “No, not at all. But it will be pretty sad when none of us believe anymore.” Cue huge lump in my throat. Um, yeah, for me, too.

Our date consisted of:

-Taco Bell (the other boys don’t like tacos, so this would never be a choice for them, making it perfect for the two of us), where I let him have Dr. Pepper instead of something caffeine-free. He ate more than I did. Which would be scary, except that Taco Bell is dirt cheap.
-a trip to the mall to look for an iphone case. This normally would have been torture for him, but he’s anxiously waiting on the case so that he can play games on the phone. I didn’t end up buying one though; I’m getting it today, since the one I decided I wanted is $25 – bummer, I had the wrong model in mind $40 at Sam’s Club instead of $50 at the mall (insert lesson in being a smart shopper). At the mall we also got dessert to share (Auntie Anne’s cinnamon sugar pretzel sticks) and…
-Luke taught me how to play Angry Birds, which I still hadn’t tried. It was so fun, sitting in the mall food court, playing the game with him.
-a stop at a hardware store for spray paint, for a project for the boys which will be featured here soon

It was such a fun night. Having one-on-one time with him, I realized that he throws around words like “schema” and “non-fiction” and “character” with ease and knowledge. That he doesn’t like me to hold his hand anymore (and I don’t blame him, but it’s such a habit for me when I’m out in public…someone has always needed to have their hand held for the past 7 years). And that he’s growing up way, way too fast.

I can’t wait to do it again.

9 responses to “A Different Kind of Date Night

  1. Love this Nicole! So love it. What a special time that involve so many good lessons. Your boys will treasure that time with you. What a great investment. Well done mama!

  2. You told!! I’m crying. I don’t think I will ever have the heart to tell. We discussed this year that we think Blake (12) still believes. If not he doesn’t give an inkling that he knows even when prompted to tell.

  3. What a touching post!! I’m in denial that Luke is the age he is. His line about “when none of us believe anymore” was a stab to the heart for sure. You & Matt are such good parents! Your date w/ Luke sounded perfect for the 2 of you, and I can’t wait to hear about your dates w/ B & JH!!

  4. he is just such a sweet, sweet boy! how special that your dear first-born got to have the first date with mom, too. and yes–he is a smartie! i’m dying to know what angry birds is all about!

  5. Those moments I want to freeze in time…. I don’t think we’re going to have a “telling” moment. Though there was a time when we knew, the fact that my parents never verbalized it, still kept it “fun” to us. We’ll see how that goes, though, being that we have a very inquisitive daughter, and I was a little dense. šŸ™‚

  6. So glad the talk went well with him.

    I was just telling a friend that I need to do 1 on 1 evenings with my kids too – that’s no NOT karate or dance class.

    The fact that my Lucas laughed his head off when he saw a “Much Fichigan” shirt? It made me realize just how much he’s grown up

  7. Love your date night idea. I’ve never called them date nights, but I often do things with just one of my kids at a time. Often, its not planned, but one child has a sleep-over, so we do something special with the other, or one of the boys does something with me while the other does something with dad. Something as small as the 5 minute ride home from day-care is a special time I have with my youngest. Its one of the reasons I’m not looking forward to him going to kindergarten in the fall. Glad your TALK went well. Just curious, what made you decide that 2010 was the year? We haven’t had the TALK with our 9 year old. I know he has doubts, but he’s a lot like me. He probably thinks he’ll get in trouble if he says anything!

    • We just felt like 8 yrs old/2nd grade was old enough, Jackie…no REAL reason exactly. Plus, we didn’t want him to be the last kid in his class to know. We kept talking about how this doesn’t change things in regards to presents šŸ™‚

  8. Too cute, but sad as well. I envisioned the moment when Mia no longer wants to hold my hand while reading your post. OMG!
    Love the fact that you take that special time with your boys. Lesson learned!

Talk to me!

