Japan – Relief for Kids

The coverage of the earthquake/tsunami has been constant and horrifying. I can’t even fathom what destruction like that looks and feels like when it’s your own country. City. Neighborhood.

A friend of mine from elementary school, Monika, is living in Japan right now on a military base. Thankfully, she and her family are safe. But, she posted a great way to help, and it’s easy to get your kids involved. Because I think that while people (like me) have good intentions, if they don’t do something to help in the immediate aftermath of a disaster like this far from home, they don’t do anything. And this can be accomplished in one trip to Target or Walmart.

Here’s the message Monika reposted from her friend who is heading this up:

The Girl and Boy Scouts on Camp Zama are making backpacks for the children who are homeless due to the earthquake/tsunami with comfort items…I made 3 tonight. I put a children’s fleece blanket, a sketch pad, stickers, colored pencils, a sharpener, a small ball, a child’s size toothbrush and toothpaste, lotion, chapstick, a brush and comb set and a combination of American and Japanese treats. I plan to make some more as I can get the supplies…those of you in the US have better access to the same items for cheaper so let me know if you can help.

Since these get shipped to an APO, you can use a flat-rate priority box (which you get at the post office, and it doesn’t matter how much it weighs – it appears on the USPS website that the large flat-rate box can be shipped to an APO for $12.95; medium box is $10.95). Monika recommended putting a little note in the backpack telling the kids that you’re from the US so that they know that people all over the world care about them.

Here’s the address:

USA Girl Scouts-Zama
Attn: April Snyder
GDS Box 62
APO AP 96337-9998

8 responses to “Japan – Relief for Kids

  1. This is fantastic. We will be making and sending some this week! Thank you for posting this.

  2. Thanks for posting this Nicole!! We are going to make some too (and I will link to your post when I blog).

  3. I hate to be the dense one, but I would just be putting the supplies in the box, right? (not a backpack?)

  4. Thanks, Nicole. I’m going to put a link to your page up on my blog in a little while as well. 🙂

  5. So doing this! This weekend!

  6. Would it be OK with you if I re-posted part of this message? I have lots of friends who might like to help with this project. I heard about your effort from a friend.

  7. What a wonderful idea. Have been at a loss as to how to help. This idea is helping one person at a time and from the above responses , it is clear that it is spreading, thanks to you! I’ll get Elena and Mark involved.

Talk to me!

