Before and After: Kitchen Command Center

When I saw this post on Tatertots and Jello, I KNEW I had to do this to our tiny kitchen desk area. And while mine isn’t as cool as hers (I love the vintage touches she added!), it is totally going to work for us, and I love that cost me less than $20 because of the paint and a few other things I already had on hand.

Here’s the before (the already-cleaned-up-a-little-bit version):

It’s small. The drawer, because of its depth, is virtually useless. Stuff heaped on the counter space just wasn’t working for me. Plus, there’s a spot on my kitchen island that always has papers on it. And, every day when Matt comes in from work, he asks me where the mail is.

That’s not going to be an issue anymore. ๐Ÿ™‚

The afters:

hooray for organization!

I feel like I need to pause here for a moment and write a note to my children and those of their generation.

Dear kids,
Years and years ago, telephones did not have to be plugged in to an outlet to work. You simply hooked them up to a phone jack and talked! But, the catch was that you could only move as far as the telephone cord would allow…that’s right, phones were NOT cordless. So that’s why this house was built with the phone jack and outlet not on the same wall, which would be really convenient about now.
Love,
Mom

Ok, back to our regularly-scheduled programming with some notes about the details.

Here are the file folders. They’ll contain important papers for the kids for school that I will probably forget to fill out and return on time since they won’t be lying on the counter any longer, and Matt’s file will get the mail that pertains to him.

I covered some old files we had with scrapbook paper and adhesive spray (which worked marginally well; note that Jack's folder does not have an interior cover). So the only cost was the paper (on sale at Hobby Lobby) since I had the spray adhesive leftover from the map project.

Next up: that little round box in the corner? Purchased as a set of 3 on clearance for $3 at Joann’s a few days ago. I’d already put the other two to use in my craft storage area, and then I remembered this one, which was the largest of the 3, when I needed something in which to store power cords.

phone cords, DS charger, ipod accessories...all out of sight.

And now for the tray. I looked for a while before I found this one at HomeGoods for $6. It was UGLY, let me tell you. But a few coats of paint later and voila! A perfect little tray. The pencil holder was one I already had (from Target, maybe?) and spray painted to match, and the little tin can was in the $1 section (which in the last week has become the $1.50 section, thank you inflation) at Michael’s.

all of the cords are driving me nuts.

But something was missing in the first picture, I realized, when I stepped back to take a look.

There, that’s better.

much better.

The only thing I think I’d like to add is a vintage phone. Like if I could find a really old one that could sit on the tray or be attached to the wall I’d be so happy. Of course, I’d put the cordless somewhere else in the house, because I don’t want to live in the stone age, but I think it would look really cool.

8 responses to “Before and After: Kitchen Command Center

  1. I LOVE the Tatertots and Jello blog! So many good ideas.

    Love the patterned folders!

  2. Ok now you’ve inspired me! Our area is always cluttered – my own fault.

  3. You know I love me some organization! And repurposed reorg takes the cake! Love!

  4. Nicole – SUPER CUTE!! I would love to have a little area like this in our kitchen – but instead our kitchen table just turns into the “collect all” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    My mom just recently got rid of her old rotary dial phone in the basement that hung on the wall – now that would be something to have in your kicthen for your boys to talk about!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Love this! I’ve been searching FOREVER for ideas for our kitchen planning area. My only fear of doing the files (which i’ve seen) is exactly what you said – that I will totally forget to look in the files and fill out the necessary papers that need to be filled out in time. So, this area also becomes a catch all for coupons of all sorts for us. How do you organize those? Looks great! Love the idea of the vintage phone too!

  6. LOVE the Tatertots and Jello blog also…I typically slip up and call it Tatertos and Jelloshots – LOL !! Love the way your station turned out….I have a desk area as well….It has drawers but again…it is the junk collection area……along w/ the dining room table…..LOVE the scrapbook paper from Hobby Lobby…too funny that I have several of the same pages ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: Muuuuch better

Talk to me!

