Quick Table Makeover

A few weeks ago, I got the grand idea that I would paint the boys’ playroom table. It was just looking so sad and worn…it’s been used almost daily for 6 years, and no amount of Mr. Clean Magic Erasers could get the white parts clean anymore (maybe that wouldn’t have been a problem if I’d actually cleaned the table regularly over the years, but that didn’t happen often).

When I mentioned to Kelli that I was going to do this, she said that I should paint a chessboard on the middle of the table, which was an idea that the boys and I loved. However, when it came down to it, that was going to be a complicated lot of work, and I just decided against it, even though the boys were brought to tears when I told them it wasn’t happening.

So here’s the in-process pics, since I didn’t take an official before:

The after, in colors requested by Jack Henry (I also sanded the top of the table down a little and put a couple of coats of polyurethane on top):

someone was very happy to get his table back, and used it immediately after waking up!

It coordinates well with our READ letters:

And I think that because this orange is muted, the THINK sign can stay, too:

So that leaves just a couple of small projects for now, so that I can at least feel like I’ve given this room some attention. For one, the black Ikea desk chair needs a coat of paint. Probably just brown, but maybe something a bit more fun. Secondly, I’ve decided to finally paint the ugly chandelier. I’m thinking we’ll do the blue or green that matches the table and chairs.

gah. brass. hideous.

5 responses to “Quick Table Makeover

  1. Super fun Nicole! How long did it take ya?

    • Well, it shouldn’t have taken long at all, but because of all the potential chessboard stalling, it took several weeks. If I’d just done it? 3 days.

  2. The top of the table looks so brand-new; did you do something to it? The set looks really great now!!

    • I just sanded it down a little and then put a couple of coats of poly on top…it’s a big improvement, but I could have worked harder and made it look even newer. However, knowing what will happen to it, I didn’t want to put a lot of effort into it.

  3. Let me know how the chandelier job goes – I want to do our 2 kitchen ones which is a bit more nervy being that it is the most used room in the house!

Talk to me!

