Full Circle, Part 1

I mentioned earlier in the week that I was doing something out-of-the-ordinary for me, so I’m back to tell a little bit about it!

I guess I haven’t ever really talked about what I used to do for work before I started staying home, outside of the “Story of My Name” post and a few mentions here. So let’s get into that a little bit.

It was April 2002. I had been miserably struggling through every day of a job I hated since the previous October (seriously, I CLUNG to Colossians 3:23 during that time: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.”). I’d been looking for a new job since I’d started the one I was at, and after many resumes and a few bad interviews, I finally got an interview I was psyched about. The man interviewing me agreed to meet at a little cafe across the street from my house, as he lived near where we did at the time.

After we started talking, I realized that he was from a different organization than I thought I was being interviewed by…that’ll happen when you send out as many resumes as I did! I never let on that I was surprised at what he was talking about, and must have transitioned seamlessly enough through my surprise to do well and get asked to a second interview. This organization could not have been located in a less-convenient area (a solid 30 minute commute into an office building in a not-so-nice neighborhood), and I was exceedingly nervous about the second interview, as it was going to include a typing test.

Oh wait, have I not mentioned what I was interviewing for? An administrative assistant position. Yes, yes, completely what my parents and I spent all of that money on college for (reminder: my degree is in Human Development and Family Studies). I was willing to do anything at this point, but the big bonus for me was that they weren’t just any organization: this was a group called CHARACTERplus, a non-profit that works with public schools to teach character education to students.

The typing test was ok…nothing stellar. I liked the office and the people I met, but I left feeling like I probably wasn’t a great candidate for the job. And, the job was temporary – 3 MONTHS TEMPORARY – with the potential, pending state funding (do you even know how iffy that is??), to be permanent.

Lo and behold, I was chosen. (Sidenote: I recently met with my former boss, who went on to work for the Dept of Education in DC, and she told me that she wasn’t sure why she felt like she should, but she chose me, 24 and with little experience, over the other finalist candidate, a middle-aged woman with a TON of AA experience. She even told the man who interviewed me, “You might think this is crazy, but I’m going with Nicole!” I love it.)

Matt and I talked and talked and prayed about what to do: the pay was only a little better than I was making at the current despised job, and it was potentially only for 3 months. But we both knew how miserable I was, and we decided to take the plunge, and deal with finding a new job at the end of June if I had to.

I started work the first week of April, on that Tuesday, I believe.

And on Friday, I found out I was pregnant with my first baby.

To be continued…this is getting WAY longer than I planned. I just decided that having this whole story recorded is good for family history purposes after I started writing! But I have to stop now and get dinner in the crockpot and pay attention to Jack Henry.

5 responses to “Full Circle, Part 1

  1. Oh, I’m SO glad you’re posting about this; it’s all VERY hazy in my mind. I can’t wait til the next installment!

  2. NOOO! You cannot do a cliff hanger! On Friday! I’m hooked and waiting with baited breath, pardon the fishing puns…

  3. I love that the story includes answered prayer. I think it’s so, so important to remind ourselves of those times and to tell others so they can be encouraged too. 🙂

    And Col 3:23 is my life verse. I remind myself every morning and I like my job. Helps to keep that focus. 😀

    Can’t wait for the next installment!

  4. I SO hear you about going to a job you hate! My mantra for 1 long year was, “Do all work with God’s love.” I tried to focused on the students, not the administrative crap. It was bad.

    I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  5. i love it! can’t wait to read more 😀

Talk to me!

