Once Upon a Time…

…there was a family of four, who had a big announcement to make.

check out bennett's shirt...it had been luke's, so when the family saw bennett wearing it, it took a while for everyone to put two and two together! also, note that at 8 weeks-ish pregnant, i'm already wearing a track suit.

And before too long (well, actually, it WAS a very, very long summer for the pregnant mama, but she made it)…

that is a lot of baby! (7 1/2 months pregnant)

…they were a family of five.

enter everyone saying "boy, you've got your hands full!" jack henry was about 3 hours old here.

They watched their little addition grow…

so relaxed (10 days old)

…and grow…

never was there a happier baby! (7 months old)

…and grow…

look at those baby blues! (1 1/2 years old)

…and grow some more.

nothing cuter than a little boy at the beach (2 1/2 years old)

And before they knew it, it was time for him to start preschool.

he's so, so excited!

And if his mama is being honest, when his brothers started preschool it was kind of a relief, having a small break in the day (even though she was sad then, too, about the unfairness of the passage of time), because she always had a baby at home with her.

But this time, having this baby start school, she’s feeling old and sad. And though she will love her five hours to herself, and she loves what they’re able to do now as a family with bigger kids, there will be times when she’ll think about this time in her life:

And wish it hadn’t gone by so quickly.

17 responses to “Once Upon a Time…

  1. This post made me tear up! My baby is only a year but I feel like in the blink of an eye, he will be heading off to kindergarten. Thanks for helping me stop and take a moment to treasure our current stage!

  2. sniffle, sniffle. πŸ˜€ Love.it.

  3. Awww… It does sometimes seem to be just a blur.

  4. Okay, you’re annoyingly cute in the picture with the 3 hour old JH. You can’t even take a bad picture after GIVING BIRTH??? Really?? My granddaughter turns 3 in two days and I find myself staring at newborns in the grocery store, watching them watch the ceiling go by and remembering how much Lauren loved the ceiling fan when she was tiny. It does go by SO fast. Enjoy it while you can – these are the easiest of years!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. That picture of Jack Henry at the front door, school bag in hand, HUGE smile on his face is THE BEST!!!!!! I know it’s a hard morning for you. 😦 Let some new preschool stories begin!!

  6. oh, my! yes, it’s gone too quickly!!! hope he absolutely adores it today!!!

  7. Beautiful. Both your family photos and the story. Today I’m wishing these years hadn’t gone by so quickly too…

  8. Sweetness. MAde me miss you and the years we had together in small group. I remember that big announcement. πŸ™‚

  9. I’m tearing up. How fast time flies.

  10. Super Cute Post!! Love the “track suit” at 8 weeks!! πŸ™‚ I’m familar! πŸ™‚

  11. Oh my lump in throat. I was thinking of what my blogpost was going to be regarding preschool for the last child and, well, this is pretty much it.

  12. After 1 baby…..I believe track suits are perfectly accepted (and in my case…necessary) after 2 weeks pregnancy – LOL! Also, you are TOTALLY cute post delivery – WTH?!?!

  13. So, so sweet! Time flies way too fast.

  14. This post is so sweet and true! I remember how excited I was when my oldest started kindergarten. I kept thinking about the daycare savings and looking forward to this new chapter in our lives….real school. However when my youngest was finishing preschool, it was the saddest thing for me. I practically bawled through the preschool graduation ceremony and yes, I did feel old. Luckily, the first day of kindergarten went better…no tears for either of us!

  15. This made me tear up, and I’m not even a mom!!! Makes me think of the song “You’re Gonna Miss This”. . . and that song makes me want to tear up every time I hear it!

    What a great family you have! I love that we are blogging nerds so I can watch your family grow up. πŸ™‚

  16. I am glad that you posted this..

    This is exactly where I am at now with my three children and I often forget to slow down and cherish the time I have with them while they are still so small and sweet and actually want to be with me every hour of every day. πŸ˜€

Talk to me!

