Then and Now

When I was about 20 years old, my family took a vacation to Breckenridge…one of our most favorite trips ever.

On our way into Colorado, we stopped at the visitor’s center, and I snapped this picture of my parents:

1997, at colorado visitor's center.

On our way into Colorado in July, we stopped at what I confirmed, while there, was the same visitor’s center, just with a new exterior, and I took this picture:

it was SO bright!

Then, while we were in RMNP, I was on the lookout for the spot I remembered getting a picture taken with my siblings when we were there in 1997. Here’s the original:

me, hayley, jake and zach at medicine bow curve in 1997

And I was really happy when I recognized it as Medicine Bow Curve, just past the Alpine Visitor’s Center (at least I think I’m right about this), even though we took the picture from a different angle:

diehl boys at medicine bow curve

I really, REALLY wish I’d remembered that picture of my mom and dad before our trip, because I would have taken it along with me and done a Dear, Photograph (I. love. this. site.) of it. Next time…

4 responses to “Then and Now

  1. I love how you recreated the photos! So cute. That Dear, Photograph site just made me completely tear up at work.

  2. Love it! Such a great idea to do photos in the same spot.

  3. Beautiful and meaningful. You’re terrific at capturing your family’s heritage. Communicates grounded-ness and place. I’m taking notes on this one…

Talk to me!

