I Did What Any Sane Woman Would Do.

Last Friday afternoon, I heard a really loud noise coming from outside our house.

“Hmm,” I thought. “Someone must have gotten a new mower or something.”

When the sound didn’t stop and sounded closer than someone mowing, I stepped out the front door and ran to the side of our house to discover that my house was actually making that noise. Well, part of my house, at least: the air conditioning unit. And when outside, that noise was actually a shrill, high-pitched whine, coupled with a vibrating sound. And it was awful.

It stopped after less than a minute. I heard it a couple more times during the day, and when Matt got home from work, I told him about it.

Of course it didn’t make any noise again until around 9:30pm. When it started, Matt immediately jumped off the couch to head outside to hear it, and at the same time, our doorbell rang. Seems our neighbor was outside with his dog and there’s no mistaking that the sound meant something was wrong.

We shut down the a/c…no need to keep the neighbors up all night.

Since we were going to be in Effingham from Saturday afternoon-Sunday afternoon, we didn’t bother with paying more for a service call on Saturday morning. When we returned Sunday afternoon, it was 87 in our house. I threw open all of the windows, and it stayed 87 for 6 hours.

But what did I do after opening all of the windows, and what does the title have to do with any of this?

Well, within minutes of being home, I ran to the pantry. To save my chocolate chips. Being that I like to bake, I have a wide variety on hand: semi-sweet (mini and regular) and milk chocolate, white chocolate, butterscotch, Andes mint chips, peanut butter chips and caramel bits and almond bark. (This is not a joke.) I stuck them in the fridge, relieved that I wouldn’t have to replace them.

On Monday, I remembered a pin I’d stuck to Pinterest not long ago for a single-serving of chocolate-chip cookie dough. Based on the comments, here’s the best combination:
1.5 Tbl butter, softened
3 Tbl flour
1.5-2 Tbl brown sugar
splash of milk
splash of vanilla
as many chocolate chips as you want

Oh. my. goodness. I am a girl who loooooves cookie dough, and even I was able to save this for 2 servings 🙂

In the end, that cookie dough probably helped save my sanity, as our a/c wasn’t fixed until 3:00pm on Tuesday. The weather on Monday and Tuesday was a HUGE blessing, though, because while it did get pretty warm in here, the days were not horribly hot. In fact, if we’d had a/c, the days would have felt really nice, I’m sure.

God saved the blazing heat for Wednesday through tomorrow, when it’s once again easily over 100 in St. Louis, which is something I have no tolerance for in September.

Dear October: kindly come quickly. Love, Me.

6 responses to “I Did What Any Sane Woman Would Do.

  1. amen to this heat going away. i’m starting to rethink my ‘i’d rather be hot than cold’ philosophy.

  2. Makes total sense to me. And I’m so glad your a/c is fixed.

  3. There is no joking around when it comes to chocolate.

  4. I’ve made that recipe twice since seeing it on pinterest. It is dangerous!

  5. I made this the night I came across it. Yumo

  6. Good to see you have your priorities in order. Women, children and chips first… Stay cool. October’s coming!

Talk to me!

