Lore.

A few months ago, Jon Acuff wrote this post about his favorite way to make decisions. It’s brief and very good; please go read it and come back here.

When I think back on my childhood and the things that shaped it, I think of funny family vernacular, like “Cardinal John” for Parmesan (my brother’s toddler misunderstanding, which stuck). I think of our long drives to Santa Fe to visit my mom’s sister, Dee, and her wonderful family. I think of my cousins living down the street from us, and best friends living down the other direction, and all of the games we played and how we caught crawdads in the ditch. (Well, I didn’t actually catch them. I supervised.) I think of church every Sunday without fail.

So what are we doing? What stories do I hope our kids tell?
Reading nights, where once a summer, the boys get to stay up as late as they want as long as they’re reading (1 and 2am this year, if I’m remembering correctly).
Backyard and basement campouts.
Ice cream surprise night.
Vacations. To part of Matt’s family lore at the cottage at Lake Delavan, and to other parts of the country that we’ve enjoyed exploring with them.
M&Ms ever-present (although, only eaten a small handful at a time for dessert, if that’s their choice that night).
Games, like Ticket to Ride, Clue, and many others, played on a regular basis.
Prayers every night before bed.
That their mom wouldn’t short-order cook for them, and made them try new things, and therefore, now, they’re great, adventurous eaters. Hey, a mom can dream.

Of course, there WILL be unpleasant memories, too. But we’re focusing on the positives right now, ‘kay?

We asked them what kinds of things we do that they’ll want to do with their own kids, and they said having us come up to their room every night to give them a hug and a kiss before bed (this almost made me cry when Bennett said it!) and Saturday morning donuts (Luke’s contribution). Jack said he’s going to be just like his dad.

I am totally in love with the idea of making decisions based on the lore they’ll create for our kids. It will be so fun to someday sit around with the boys and hear them reflect on the things that stuck with them from childhood.

So tell me…what’s part of your lore, or what lore are you creating for your family?

6 responses to “Lore.

  1. awww, i love this post! you are great parents πŸ™‚ i was just telling jeff the other day how i remember riding my bike (banana seat and all) to school every day in grade school–still a memory i love about my school days πŸ™‚

  2. I think of the lore we’re creating often. Family dinners every night is a biggie for me. “Movie night” has become something special too – it’s the only time the kids are allowed to eat in the family room (popcorn of course). And the kids camping out in one bedroom on the eve of Christmas & Easter.

  3. I think living at the beach is creating great and lasting memories for our kids. As hard as the move has been, this is our favorite place to be as a family. Going to the beach in the evening as the sun sets and inevitably going home with all three kids dripping wet (fully clothes, of course) is not always my favorite, but the memories and the laughter are things I think they’ll always love and remember. I can’t wait to see what God does with our family, and particularly the kids, now that we’re down here permanently. πŸ™‚

  4. Fun post Nicole! Jeremy and I love to do Saturday donuts with the boys and we do Family Movie night. The kids get as much popcorn as they want and a Sprite *gasp*! I love that Cooper remembers some of our Christmas traditions like homemade cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning and hiding the pickle in the tree. I miss our little outdoor adventures we did in Seattle and am wanting to try to pick that up again to continue the love of the outdoors now that we are back in MO.

  5. Family dinners!! TGIFs, basement movie nights, dining room dinners (to celebrate even the tiny occasions), family bike rides

  6. I am so glad that your trips to Santa Fe are among those favorite memories!

Talk to me!

