From the “This Only Happens to Me” Files…

Yesterday morning was the first morning this fall that the boys needed church shoes to wear with khaki pants. This immediately poses a few problems:

1. Why don’t I EVER think of this until the first morning we need them?
2. Luke isn’t going to have any shoes that fit.
3. Bennett hates pretty much anything except tennis shoes…I’m going to have to convince him that his shoes are just fine.
4. Seriously, why can’t I get my act together at the end of summer and buy Luke some shoes? Gah.

As predicted, Luke’s shoes were no where close to fitting. Chuck Taylors for him, which was fine. Bennett’s shoes DID fit, and with a minimum of coercing and a no-nonsense attitude from me, he was wearing the shoes quickly and didn’t say a word about them all day. Jack Henry and I ventured to the basement to pull out a pair from storage for him.

Lo and behold, there was a pair that fit perfectly, and thankfully, hadn’t been destroyed by his brothers. Unpreparedness: 1, Me: 2.

Fast-forward to church a bit later. I was checking Jack Henry into his Sunday School classroom when he told me he had a rock in his shoe. I said fine, sit down, take off your shoe, and after I’ve signed you in, I’ll put your shoe back on for you. A minute later, he was handing me something, and he had a weird look on his face.

Frankly, you would, too, if you’d just pulled one of your brother’s teeth out of your shoes.

Yep. For a time, Luke was insisting on saving his teeth after they fell out (while this was gross, it really wasn’t weird to me – I know I did the same thing). And apparently, one escaped from the little box it was being stored in, and fell into a shoe in the closet (I’m sure while the shoes were Bennett’s), and was then put in storage undetected for the past year or so.

Welcome to the crazy.

12 responses to “From the “This Only Happens to Me” Files…

  1. This whole thing is funny (to read, not-so-much to experience)!! I know being caught off-guard must be frustrating to a totally organized person like you; me–I live this way. Even now, I’m sometimes packing for an event I THINK I’ve been getting organized for well ahead of time, only to realize too late that I forgot all about such & such.

    But the tooth? Now THAT’S just too funny!!

  2. You hit the nail on the head with that title! So funny.

  3. I don’t get it. What’s so weird about finding some teeth in your shoes?

  4. This happened to me just last week, and I have no children.

    Okay, maybe not. πŸ˜‰ Nope, not probably something that happens every day. πŸ™‚

  5. I love you Nicole Diehl. You make me feel allllll better. πŸ˜€

  6. Lol. How do I know you again? πŸ˜‰

  7. So, I’m browsing through your blog, which I honestly haven’t done in a while since I basically gave up on my blog and since I’ve become so interested in facebook (sorry- I’ll be checking again a lot more often- who knows, it may motivate me to start up again on mine!)…..anyway, this made me laugh out loud, which in turn woke up Drew from his nap! Which is okay, because I need to go pick up Mikey at preschool anyway. Seriously, Nicole- this is hilarious. You have great stories and you are so good at telling them!

  8. Pingback: The One Where My Laziness Saved The Day. | Here's the Diehl

Talk to me!

