Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

After I posted this, I thought, “Perfect for WFMW!” I’m back!

I’ve read this classic to my 3 kids countless times…it’s fun, easy book for them to pick up on.

Jack Henry came home from school last week with a pipe-cleaner-and-pony-bead bracelet. I asked him what it was, and he casually said, “Oh, it’s my brown bear bracelet.”

Meaning, the colors of the beads correspond with the order of the colors in the book…brown bear, red bird, yellow duck, blue horse, and on and on. And what was fun was that Jack Henry could retell the story without even having the book in front of him, because the beads reminded him of the order (except there are no beads to represent the teacher and students at the end).

Confession time: I stink at doing crafts with my kids. I don’t know why. I don’t mind the mess (JH is currently turning our kitchen table into a jillion tiny pieces of playdoh from the little playdoh haircutting tool). And I really don’t have a problem with them creating something that isn’t quite my vision. So after all of that introspection, I still don’t know why I don’t do more stuff like that with them. I’ll try to do better.

All that to say: this is a SUPER easy, very cheap (everything would be at Hobby Lobby or Walmart for less than $4, I’d bet), doesn’t-make-a-mess, and fun and educational craft to do with your toddler/preschool-aged kids. So if you’re looking for one, look no further.

And if you want REAL ideas of fun crafts to do with boys, click over to All for the Boys. Great, doable ideas!!

6 responses to “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

  1. I still can’t get over it that JH goes to preschool & has these cool things to come home & show/tell!

  2. What a cute idea. And what a fun book. I just captured B ‘reading’ this book on video earlier today. That and memorizing scripture are two of the most enjoyable things for me to witness at this age! Love it!

  3. Totally pinning this idea. I have read Brown Bear three times already today to Connor. What a great way to extend the activity beyond a 1 year-old’s comprehension!

  4. Hey that’s a fun link for boy crafts…thanks!

  5. Love the book and love the bracelet. Good, good idea.

  6. Pingback: Eric Carle Books - Craft Ideas - The Crafting Chicks

Talk to me!

