They’re Getting Too Old for This :(

Last weekend, we took the boys to the pumpkin patch (which, incidentally, is crazy-expensive…we stopped at Trader Joe’s on our way home and bought our pumpkins, where we got 3 for the price of ONE at the farm. Yikes…plus, $5/per person for a hayride, and $5/kid for a short pony ride in a circle? Are you joking?).

loving the little maze!

And the main thought I had while there?

My kids are almost too old for this. Boo hoo.

Don’t get me wrong; they had a great time. And there was nary a complaint about it being boring or for babies or anything remotely close to that.

It’s just that, well, I used to look so forward to taking our babies to the pumpkin patch and nestling them down in amongst the pumpkins and taking ridiculously cute pictures. See for yourself, some favorites from years past:

luke and bennett in 2005

bennett in 2006

luke duke...i can barely remember him as a 3-year-old!

well, this was taken at the apple orchard, but hey! there are pumpkins! jack henry in 2009

See? Tooth-achingly sweet. {And I realized upon looking through pictures that we’ve been to the pumpkin patch less frequently than I thought…apple picking has taken priority the past couple of years, plus there was the time we went with Heather and girls and Bennett was in the midst of his sensory problems and had a complete meltdown at the pumpkin patch, and there are no pictures, thankfully.}

I literally laughed out loud when I visualized trying to sit my kids down now in the rows of pumpkins.

Instead, this year, running through the maze and then later, the field of giant pumpkins was the big treat (even though, kids, mark my words: I will never buy you a $35 pumpkin).

Still fun. Just different. And leaving me shaking my head at how fast time is passing.

5 responses to “They’re Getting Too Old for This :(

  1. Amen, sister.

  2. Girl I am right there with you. Did you SEE the pumpkins they wanted $50 for?!!!! I couldn’t believe ALL the people I saw buying them. Am I crazy? Am I cheap? Am I really that tight? Yes…yes I am. And I was very sad when I saw the pumpkins at Schnucks that were $5 EACH (and bigger) after I paid $9 flippin’ bucks for EACH of the 3 pumpkins I bought. Sigh. Oh well. I sound old….cute pumpkins lady. šŸ˜€ The kids I mean. šŸ˜€

  3. Apparently, in Michigan at least, there’s some sort of pumpkin shortage so the prices went way up here, too. But now they’re coming down because they’re realizing people would rather go without pumpkins than pay that much. Ridiculous.

  4. My kids are getting too old too. I couldn’t even bribe Kendall into going…and believe me…I tried. So, my sister and I went and took Kolten and her little guy. We had fun, but I also miss taking them in the toddler stage where everything is new and exciting.

Talk to me!

