Morning Rant.

Whoever it was that had the bright idea to create side-by-side refrigerator/freezers should be dragged into the public square and stoned with all of the frozen food items that will not fit in a side-by-side-sized freezer.

That is all.

PS we got a side-by-side with this house; I would never buy one with my own money.

12 responses to “Morning Rant.

  1. Funny – we are on our 3rd s-b-s, which were all deliberately chosen. We do have another chest freezer in basement that I would not survive without. Plus the avocado s-b-s (circa 1970) is also in kitchen area in basement. Mostly I love the in-the-door water/ice dispenser in the last two.

    • We have an extra freezer/fridge and small chest freezer in the basement, and I definitely use those for storage, but I just can’t get over how so little actually fits in the freezer in my kitchen. I do love the water and ice dispenser, but since the french door ones come with those now (right inside the door), the side-by-side, for me, has lost its only positive attribute.

  2. Amen! My main issue is the constant shuffling around necessary every time you are looking for something… especially the top self with pitchers/milk gallons.

  3. We bought our side by side when we moved into our house. No kids, ate out a lot, never bought anything in bulk . . . we didn’t know better. And at the time, I don’t think we could find a decent one with a water/ice dispenser that wasn’t side by side.

    After six years in the house, it’s really only been in the last three years that I’ve found it to be a pain. Now I’m counting down the days until it dies.

  4. I, too, have grown to hate them through the years. Having JUST gotten a small chest freezer before the holidays, I don’t know how I’ve existed without one. I also want a small (but not dorm sized) fridge for downstairs but just never have accomplished picking up a used one. I LUST after a French door, bottom freezer fridge w/ ice dispenser in door. With that said, our current fridge (which is old) will probably never die.

  5. Preach it, sister!!! I’m in the same boat. I’d rather have the craptastic bottom-of-line fridge from our teeny tiny townhouse than what came with the new house. However, I know now that I really want the French door/freezer drawer beauty, for future reference.

  6. Hmmm…I love mine, though I would gladly upgrade to stainless. I feel like I can fit so much more in the freezer and actually see the stuff than I could in the old freezer on top style. I do also have our old fridge/freezer on top in the garage for soda, ice cream, frozen pizzas, etc. We have an upright freezer also for when we buy our bulk meat in the garage. That is another thing I love, I can see everything unlike my mom’s huge chest freezer where you dig and dig to find what you want…plus it doesn’t take up much floor space….but I really think I’ll buy another side by side for the kitchen. I HATE the freezer on the bottom ones. Guess all of our different likes/dislikes keep the companies in business!

    • I also would never buy stainless, but that’s just me 🙂 We’ve inherited it in our move and I can’t wait to replace it with a black French door 🙂 You’re right – our differences make the manufacturers happy!!

  7. Lol. Blogging can be a lot like therapy for things you’d never pay a therapist to hear.
    Feel better now? Good. That’ll be $100…

Talk to me!

