The Hunger Games

Let me state for the record: science fiction isn’t my thing. At all.

But when person after person declared it didn’t matter, I would LOVE The Hunger Games trilogy, I decided to give it a try. Worst case scenario is I hate them and stop reading, right?

Well that didn’t happen. I’ve spent late night after late night reading through these books, including a three-hour-reading marathon last night, biting my nails (which I only do when I read), and literally gasping out loud at plot changes I didn’t see coming.

If you haven’t read it yet and are thinking you want to, know this: the first half of book 1 was just interesting to me. I was intrigued and wanted to keep going, but I wasn’t totally hooked yet. Don’t give up…because after you get into the second half at all, you’ll be physically unable to put the book down.

I immediately started reading book 2, and felt that its start was a bit on the slow side, too, though that scarcely mattered now that I was so hooked on the characters and knowing what would happen to them. Book 3 is my least favorite, but I still loved it and couldn’t wait to see how the story unfolded.

The first movie comes out March 23, and from what I’ve seen in the trailer, they’ve stayed pretty true to the book.

Have you read them? What did you think? I’m not going to give away the plot, but I was pretty happy with how everything was resolved, given the situation.

PS Also, can I beg of America to not turn this into Twilight by calling groups of people “Team Katniss” vs. “Team Peeta” or “Team Peeta” vs. “Team Gale?” I’m sorry, but that’s so dumb. And I know it’s already happened, but let’s just stop the madness.

6 responses to “The Hunger Games

  1. The 3rd one was my least favorite, too. . . but still good. I love Peeta. I want to marry him. More than Jim Halpern.

  2. I’m maybe 1/4 of the way into the 3rd book! Like you, I’d have never imagined myself reading this type of book, but I got hooked right off the bat. Can’t wait to see how the trilogy ends!

    I’m on Andrea’s laptop & couldn’t get the trailer to work, so I’ll check it out when I get home this wkend! Had no idea there was a movie coming out!

    P.S. I want to take time to read your previous post again & check out the links (about religion), but I’m just on & off the computer quickly all this week, so . . . will get back to it next week!

  3. I am really excited to go to China to pick up our daughter, but totally BUMMED that this movie comes out while I’m gone and then I won’t likely be going out for many date nights soon after our return. LOVE it and can’t wait to see it.

    • Aw, if I was there, I’d come hang out some night and let you slip away for a few hours!! I CANNOT wait to see this meeting unfold between you and your precious daughter 🙂

  4. No way! I got the trilogy for Christmas and was just like you……Sci Fi?
    I don’t get a lot of time to read, and have only picked the book up twice. Needless to say I am 3/4 through it (book one). Pretty sure I will finish it this weekend. At least I hope so. I love to have something to look forward to at night!

Talk to me!

