Odds and Ends.

*I have a cold, and it’s sucking the life out of me. This is the first time I’ve been sick in a LONG time, and I’m certainly thankful for that, but I’m fighting the urge to just go lay on the couch.

*I don’t know why I wait until I’m miserable with sinus pain/pressure to do this, but that Netipot-type squeezy-bottle-thing works wonders. For real. I can breathe through my nose for a few hours after using it. Magic, and totally worth the pain of me doing it kinda wrong, but apparently right enough to get some relief.

*WHY do I wait 6 months to edit and upload pictures to Shutterfly? Why do I do this to myself? Ugh. It’s totally worth the effort…the boys love looking through our albums, and so do I. I just wish I didn’t let so much time elapse between working on them.

*The 4 y.o. REQUESTED a 6:15pm bedtime on Saturday night, after being worn out from his sleepover the night before (more on that in the next post).

*An exciting Pinterest update: I’ve added a “recipes I’ve tried” board to my wall, and switched the other to “recipes I’d like to try.” A couple of people I know have already done this, and I would LOVE to see other people do this, too, so I know what people I know have tried and liked.

*Try to contain your joy over this family development, but Matt and I have started sharing a Google calendar, and it’s kinda life-changing. We both enter our events in the calendar, so the old back-and-forth emailing of the schedules has stopped. AND, for added fun, we have been creatively editing each others’ entries into the calendar, so when I get a pop-up reminder on my phone for an event, it often says something funny. Matt – I promise to never edit your entries so much that you don’t know where you’re supposed to be and when.

*Old episodes of “The Office” with Michael Scott are so dang funny. So funny. I want to own every season now.

*Looking for a way to help others? My boys are doing Hoops for Heart (instead of Jump Rope for Heart) on February 3, and they’re collecting donations online. CLICK HERE to go to their site (yes, it just says Bennett…we’re pooling donations under his name because it’s just easier to have one). Help us reach our goal!

*And here’s another easy way to help someone out: my friend Jill at Hagler Happenings is collecting money (small donations via Paypal) to buy a mom who was recently diagnosed with a brain tumor some gas cards to help her get to and from her treatments.

Ok. More tomorrow on our first 12 in ’12 date (which, thankfully, predated my cold by about 12 hours)!

11 responses to “Odds and Ends.

  1. I have a “success” board on pinterest, but it contains all recipes and crafts that I’ve tried. I’m debating whether I should divide them and also take pics of my finished products, although I like keeping the pins as they are so that they link to the instructions.

  2. I need to pudate my Pinterest boards, too. The sinus rise? Amazing. Adam never does it but watches me do it and he is grossed out by what it washes out. Can’t say I blame him but that is what you get for watching!

    We have a Google calendar, too. We actually have it to where it syncs to our phones (Verizon Droids) so no need to write on a calendar, etc. The only problem is, Adam never checks it, but if he ever doesn’t know something I simply say, “Did you look at the calendar?” He gets pretty quiet after that!

  3. 1) Thank you SO much for the link! I’ve gathered some money, but of course I want to give more. 🙂
    2) I totally want to try the neti pot thingy.
    3) Thanks for the tip re: Google calendar. I might need to give that a try. Alex & I are always emailing each other – seems so weird.
    4) Michael Scott episodes… nothing like ’em!

  4. GREAT idea on Pinterest. Just changed mine.

    Kirk does the neti pot daily. He has to.

    Love The Office. Although, I’ve been watching a ton of friends reruns lately and now want to own all of them. Love that show, too.

  5. I need to figure out a calendar solution, because what we do now is just not working for me. I am so old school that I still buy an I-Book every year and it sits on my kitchen counter and I love it. The problem is Matt’s schedule which is literally insane. Currently, I get a weekly phone call from his secretary letting me know what is on his schedule and I have to write it all into my I-Book. Hate that she calls me to give me my husband’s schedule-I feel like a loser. Matt keeps telling me I need to just access his Blackberry calendar, but I don’t have a Blackberry. Maybe this would work for us?

    • I wonder if there is a way to import the blackberry calendar into a google calendar? Google it 🙂

      I love that you get an I-book! That never occurred to me after I left there!

  6. Great idea about the recipe board! I’m so going to do this, b/c I never know when people pin something if they actually wrote the caption underneath. I’ve tried quite a few recipes from Pinterest and some of them are definitely keepers.

  7. Pingback: Pinterest « My 4Bits

Talk to me!

