12 Dates in ’12: Date 1

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, read this first.

AND, now there is a monthly linky party on Shannon’s blog (where the idea originated) where I’ll be posting my date ideas, and so will lots of other women who are doing the 12 dates idea! You can click on this logo to be taken to her site and a plethora of ideas!

Date 1 was the one I scrambled to come up with right before Christmas, as I had four other good dates lined up but I didn’t want to move any of them to January. I messaged a friend and totally ripped off borrowed an idea. Thanks, K!

Friday afternoon, an icy rain started to fall around 3:15. I’d planned to bring the kids to my brother and sister-in-law’s house around 5:00, which was looking like it was not going to be a great idea given the impending precipitation. So when my SIL Michon called around 3:00 and offered to pick the kids up on her way home from work, I was elated! They were totally looking forward to their time over there with their aunt, uncle and cousins (seriously, it was been talked about for an entire week, prayed about so that no one would get sick and postpone this, etc). It was really nice to kick this whole 12 in ’12 off with them getting to do something really fun, too.*

For our first date, I bought 2 old movies that we used to watch repeatedly in college: Billy Madison and Dumb and Dumber (please don’t judge).

I got them on half.com from one seller (plus he was also selling Office Space, so I bought that, too), which makes shipping cheaper, and since these aren’t movies that I could just get at Redbox, it was cheaper to buy than rent somewhere ($9.72 for these 3 cinema classics, and we now own them…I know, right? Amazing.). We got carryout from California Pizza Kitchen, and had a roaring fire in the fireplace, a couple of drinks, and sat on the couch for hours watching these movies that totally took us back to 1995, and a little apartment on Clark Street in Urbana, where we first watched these movies over and over again.

It was so fun. And wow, those movies are both so dumb, but hilarious. Even after not seeing either of them for 10 years or so, Matt and I were repeatedly saying the next line in the movie before it came on.

Plus, it is really nice to wake up in the morning when you feel like waking up (8:45!), instead of when a certain 4-year-old decides it’s time by telling you he needs to pee and blow his nose (and he apparently wants an audience first thing in the morning).

Also, luckily, the freezing rain was short-lived and didn’t interfere with our plans, and the nasty cold I got about 8 hours after picking up the kids didn’t wreck our date.

So there you have it: date 1, in the books! Can’t wait for date 2.

*I know some people are including their kids on their dates, and if that’s what works for you, then go for it! However, for us, the focus is on making time for the two of us, so the kids will not be doing any of the 12 dates with us. There will be times I’m trading for childcare, like this date (when Ava sleeps 7-8 hours a night, I told Zach and Michon that they’re welcome to bring me their kids for the night πŸ˜‰ ), and other times when I pay a sitter so that we can have our date night.

13 responses to “12 Dates in ’12: Date 1

  1. Sounds great–just a low-energy, fun movie night! No offense to those who include their kids in their date nights, but that just plain doesn’t make sense! Can’t wait to hear about your next planned date!

  2. Loved this post! Dumb and Dumber is a classic and Billy Madison was one of my wife’s favorites for silly fun….I look forward to hearing about your future ideas. Might even steal one or two myself. Did I say that out loud?

  3. This house LOVES dumb and dumber! IT’s a classic! πŸ™‚

  4. Great idea! Simple concept, difficult to actually accomplish. Well done.

  5. That’s awesome. I’m so glad Kyle doesn’t read your blog . . . I might just copy some of these and do this next year!

  6. Awesome! MOCK – YEAH – ING – YEAH – BIRD – YEAH!

    Also, date night with kids isn’t date night, it’s family night. Big dif.

  7. this is perfect! My husband and I did this once — sent all the kids to a friend’s house for the night and got dinner, enjoyed movies at home, and slept in! Love your movie choice. We also own Billy Madison (and Happy Gilmore, and Big Daddy) and I’ve probably watched Dumb and Dumber a 100 times with my younger brothers. Love quoting all those movies!

    And thanks for linking up!

  8. Fun- one summer my son memorized every word and back ground noise from Dumb and Dumber then he spent a long weekend replacing his voice to all the characters in the movie—-wow, too much time on his hands….but he had fun.
    Thanks for sharing your idea

Talk to me!

