On Social Media.

Clearly, I love blogging. It’s a way to tell my stories, get my opinions out (coming later this week), and record our family history. This blog is a part of me now, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I also love Facebook, most of the time. It’s a great place to connect with friends who are local that I don’t see often enough, family that I love, and friends who are scattered far and wide. Also, as a stay-at-home mom, it’s a nice connection to the outside world that is free of CandyLand, goldfish crackers, and packing lunches. Facebook is also a great way to help me promote my etsy shop (BTW, there’s a great sale going on there right now!).

I puffy heart love Pinterest. It’s just amazing and helpful and I love it. End of story.

However, there are times when it’s all just too much, right?

I know I’m not the only one who feels that way. That’s why I don’t post here on a regular schedule; that just doesn’t work for me, because sometimes, I want to step away and not think about writing. I want it to be fun and engaging, and not feel like a job. So, for those of you who like predictable writing, I think you’ve gathered that I’m not one of those people. Sorry.

People are sometimes shocked to hear that I block people on Facebook. I really do that for my own sanity. When I find myself constantly frustrated with someone’s status updates, I unsubscribe, not unfriend. Because I may go back and check out what’s going on with them later, when it’s not just popping up in my newsfeed. I have to do that to be able to stay on Facebook, and I don’t think I’m a horrible person for it.

And, occasionally, I have to remove blogs from my Google Reader, either because they are no longer interesting to me or because they’ve said something that raises my blood pressure too many times, and I really don’t need that. While I can handle controversy or a post making me think, I don’t need to continue to read something that repeatedly makes me annoyed or mad, right?

I’ve stepped away from Pinterest for hours days and weeks at a time, because that’s healthy 🙂 and because I just didn’t have time for it. When I do have time, it’s such a fun, relaxing way to unwind for me.

So that’s how I handle social media. I guess my point is that should be fun, it can be challenging and thoughtful and helping me grow, but it should not irritate me.

Thoughts?

11 responses to “On Social Media.

  1. I also block people on Facebooks. I get tired of seeing music videos or comics or what game they are playing (Farmville, ugh!). I just joined Pinterest so I’m not quite hooked yet but I’m sure I will be when I figure out how it works. There is nothing wrong with blocking people or stepping away, whatever it takes to maintain your sanity.

  2. Ditto. The world will keep spinning if I don’t get on Pinterest or Facebook everyday. (On the other hand, I AM my business.. so I feel the more I’m “out there” the more reminders people get.) It’s a fine line though. And sadly, some days, Facebook is my only adult interaction… sigh.

  3. Before I figured out that you could unsubscribed i did unfriend a person or two (or more)on facebook for the same reasons – good people in “real life” just didn’t care for their facebook postings…. now that i know the unsubscribe i use that at will. 🙂 Pinterest – i have never been able to step away for more then a day!! 🙂 I think I just found what I am giving up for Lent this year….. maybe…… 🙂

  4. I have unsubscribed and unfriended/blocked many people before. Yes, Facebook is a social outlet and you can write whatever you want, but I don’t really care to waste my time with those deep, thoughtful status updates of “Ugh.” or “Life sucks.” Facebook isn’t a therapist and we’re adults so they can leave the Emo-I’m-Searching-for-Attention-but-Won’t-Actually-Ask-for-Help stuff somewhere else.

    Pinterest, however, is an addiction but I need the creative outlet to unwind from some long days. Plus, I’ve gotten SO many ideas for activities to do with Isaac that I feel it’s more of an investment in my kids 🙂 Right? I’ll go with that.

  5. Oh yeah, I block people, I don’t subscribe to any of those annoying games or other applications and I even made my own Newsfeed so that I only see the people I want to see on a daily basis. Pinterest is really just a few times a week for me. I never understand when people say they are addicted to these social media things. To me it’s all about balance. I can cheerfully walk away any time I need to. And if someone really needs me, they’ve got my phone number anyway. 😀

  6. Nicole, you and I are on the same wavelength this week. I’m trying to manage all the social media myself without it eating my time into oblivion. Posting tomorrow or Friday about a strategy to manage one specific area: my blogroll. (I promise I wrote the post before I read yours). Will link to your post and good suggestions.
    PS: I didn’t know I could unsubscribe someone whose updates upset me on FB. Jackpot!

  7. Pingback: Taming the Fountain of Blog | everyday epistle

  8. So in my constant search for ways to control my time…I just got on google reader and found your post! I, too, remove people from my FB newsfeed. I also have blocked all those crazy games and apps–so all I get is the nitty gritty!

    Your post is a great reminder about what is important!! LIFE is most important to me–and keeping up with my teenagers. I do also schedule blog posts so they are evenly spaced–I find I have a few very prolific days and could post 3-5 times, but then go for days without time or anything to say. So I schedule my posts from prolific days and don’t have the guilt during the droughts!

Talk to me!

