Get In Shape, Girl!

OK, who’s with me?! Who remembers “Get in Shape, Girl!” toys/workout equipment from the 80’s? I had the Rhythm and Ribbons set, and always wanted those weighted bracelets, too.

For those of you who don’t remember, here’s what it was:

Aren’t the 80’s glorious? I love it. For real.

For the past few weeks, I’ve started walking just a couple of miles a couple of times a week. It works out great on Wednesday nights, because I can walk the track at the school where Bennett has baseball practice, while Matt helps with practice and Jack Henry and Luke entertain themselves with the playground equipment and the fields to run and play in. And then I can usually manage to walk another time or two a week.

It’s not much, but it’s something.

Yesterday morning, I decided to start doing The Shred again. I seriously love/hate this DVD. I don’t know if you can really lose 20 pounds in 30 days as Jillian claims (I always doubt claims like this)…I’ve never attempted to actually do the DVD 2 days in a row (when I’ve been good about it in the past, I do it every other day), because holy crap, I AM IN PAIN. Thighs, primarily, which is a great thing in the long run.

I stayed pretty active yesterday after doing the workout: I shoveled a bunch of rocks (during which I got a thorn in my right index finger, which is still there and causing me much pain because I can’t get it out) and then walked several laps during B’s practice last night.

Two things are killing me: going down stairs (now an adventure, because after I get the courage up to step down the first one, I pretty much run down the rest because it hurts to stop) and sitting on the toilet. TMI, maybe, but if you’ve ever had sore muscles like this, you know that you have to half-fall to the seat, and it’s not my favorite thing.

I’m not looking to lose a certain number of pounds or clothing sizes or anything. I just want to be healthier. And I know who I am, and what I’m willing to change and what I’m not willing to let go of. That “not willing to let go of” list includes, but is not limited to:

dessert
chips
soda
sweet tea
Long Island Iced Tea and/or Raspberry Vodka lemonades

The key, of course, is moderation. I drink mostly water; however, I do love a sweet drink, and I don’t use any artificial sweeteners, so it’s regular stuff. I know from past attempts that knocking any of the above out completely just doesn’t work for me…and I’m totally okay with that. I know some people want to and can, and good for them…I’m just not one of them.

So yay me!

Now where did I put my ribbon wand and cassette tape?

11 responses to “Get In Shape, Girl!

  1. You go! I know I’m going to have to get my rear in gear after this baby because there is a matron of honor dress looming in my no too distant future.

  2. I loved Get In Shape Girl. I actually had the weighted bracelets and wanted the ribbon. It must be the week for getting fit because this is my first week of Weight Watchers. I lost 110lbs in 2005 on Weight Watchers so I know it works. I only have 20 to lose (I can say ONLY 20 because 20 is nothing compared to 110) and am ready to get it off. I maintained my weight loss for 3 years, gained 27 with Sydney and then my thyroid went wacky I wasn’t able to get it off. I’m on a good dose of Synthroid now so I’m hoping that and portion control is what I need to get back to where I feel good.

  3. Funny – as I was walking on my lunch hour today i was thinking about a blog post about how much i hate excercise and how this baby weight from #3 is not falling off like it did with child #1 – which is totally UNFAIR! I am older now i shouldn’t have to work HARDER to get back to my original shape – it should just be a gift given to mom’s for enduring sleepless nights. 🙂

  4. I had the ribbon set too! I miss the 80’s. I think it is physically impossible to do that DVD two days in a row. I try for 2-3 times a week and if I miss several days, I’m in pain trying to sit on the toilet too. Any exercise is better than nothing. Keep it up!

  5. I’m so glad to hear people getting in shape! I love running and Jillian DVDs also…Ripped in 30, Master Your Metabolism, and No More Trouble Zones are great ones to mix in too.

    Somedays I hate working out, the actual process of doing it, but the way I feel afterwards is always a million times worth it.

  6. So, I was all ready to post that I had never heard of such a thing until I actually watched the commercial. It all came flooding back to my memory and I can actually remember opening a gift containing the ribbon wand for my birthday. So, so funny.

  7. i was on a roll with the Shred and now i’m off the bandwagon. thanks for the motivation 🙂 i won’t be able to part with candy–i take out other (healthier, of course) carbs to rationalize, but candy makes me happy 🙂

Talk to me!

