12 Dates in ’12: Date 3

THIS was the date I’d been so, so excited about, that we’d had to postpone when the kids were sick. The date that started me planning this whole thing, after a Living Social deal came to my inbox last December, and I couldn’t pass it up.

On Saturday night, Matt and I went curling. Yes, the sport on ice that you’ve only ever seen played on the Olympics, and if you’re like me, watched in some confusion over scoring and rules. We will be confused no more.

This is by far one of the most fun, interesting, and educational dates we’ve ever been on!

We dropped the boys off at my sister Hayley’s house in Glen Carbon, and then drove a little north to Peel, this Edwardsville restaurant with wood fired pizzas I’d heard so much about. It did not disappoint!

Educational fact #1: a peel is the long chef’s tool used to take breads and pizzas out of the oven.

Now, I’m the first to admit that the Metro East (IL side of the StL area for those of you not from around here) is confusing to me…primarily because I’ve never had to know how the cities are laid out. In my head, they’re just all there together in a blob. Educational fact #2: they are not in a blob. They are spread out along 45 minutes of highways, lined with cops waiting to pull people over in the constantly-changing speed limits. (not us, though…just everyone around us)

Onward to the U.S. Ice Sports Complex, where our 1-hour curling lesson awaited us. The groupon deal included 2 beers, so when the lady leading the lessons asked if anyone had any questions before we headed into the rink, my husband piped up with, “Is it a good idea to get a beer before the lesson starts?” Lots of chuckling from the crowd, followed by her response of, “OF COURSE! Curling and beer DEFINITELY go together!” So we got ours (the first Bud Light I’ve had in YEARS, and now I remember why…ew), and expected some of the other people to get theirs, too…but nope. We were the only ones. So that was kind of awkward.

But then the lesson began, and it was so fun we didn’t care. We learned a lot of terminology (there’s a hack, a house, a hog line, a skip, and on and on), and about good stone delivery form and sliding on the ice and sweeping and scoring. Educational fact #3: the stones are scored in concentric cirles. Excellent short article here about how the game works. The hour went by SO quickly (10 people/group is too many…6 or 8 would be ideal), and we laughed and had a great time, and I’m sure looked utterly ridiculous some of the time. However, we both felt like we were pretty good at it ;).

Honestly, we’d LOVE to go back to open curling night sometime next fall when they open again. I’m not so sure the seasoned curlers would love to have us newbies on their team…

We headed back to Hayley’s, and made a quick stop at Bobby’s Frozen Custard on our way, since it was right there and all. We also had a very meaningful conversation about the price of safe-deposit boxes, during which I was thankful to have Google at my fingertips, able to answer our question and settle our debate (I won, for the record).

Our poor kids fell asleep at Hayley’s, were awakened when we put them in the van, fell back asleep, were awakened again when we got home, and fell asleep again in their beds. Troopers, they are.

Here’s the night in pictures!

People…go on a date with your spouse. A real date. You’ll be so glad you did. And read Katie’s account of her and Russ’s curling date. C’mon…you know you want to try it now, too!

And here’s the link to many more bloggers’ dates!

13 responses to “12 Dates in ’12: Date 3

  1. I LOVE IT! I really do want to try curling as well.

  2. How are you guys so cute ALL THE TIME!?!?

  3. That looks so fun! I am so intimidated by finding my way around the Missouri side…and yes, we are within walking distance of Bobby’s which is very dangerous. Their custard is way too good.

  4. Sounds like a ton of fun!

  5. How fun! I totally want to plan dates for Kirk at some point….hmm. This would be a blast!

  6. That’s awesome.

    And Bobby’s is my favorite frozen custard ever. I want to cry thinking about how it’s unlikely that I’ll ever be in Maryville again.

  7. I heart the dorky staged pose!!!!! 🙂

  8. I’m so mad I was too late on that Groupon – dave hasn’t forgiven me. Yay for Bobby’s – I think it even trumps Ted’s 🙂

  9. I’ve always wanted to try that sport….looks like a blast.

  10. Awesome date! My husband would love this. I need to keep my eye on Groupon for something equally cool. 🙂

Talk to me!

