12 in ’12: Date #6

It kind of feels like this date came right on the heels of Date #5, but that’s ok!

Date #6 was an overnight date (woooo!) in Wildwood, Missouri, just a few minutes down the road from our house. My sister, who just moved in with us (more on that later) stayed with the kids.

When this Living Social deal came into my inbox, I realized it was a great deal but it was a little bit pricier than I was planning for our monthly dates. However, I rationalized that it was my birthday month and this would be a part of my present. As a sidenote, if you ever need help talking yourself into something, call me; I’m very helpful :).

Here was the deal, for $100:
A 1-night stay in the Wildwood Hotel
$50 credit to Table Three, the restaurant across the street from the hotel
A bottle of wine

For a nice night out, it’s a great deal, right?

And it was such a great date! I’d highly recommend Table Three for dinner…yes, it’s a little bit on the pricey side (especially if you have a couple of drinks, but you should go there knowing the sangria was delicious), but the food was excellent, and the atmosphere on the patio was really fun, with live music, too. The hotel is beautiful, and honestly, for how big the room was (king size bed + pull out couch, plus just a spacious room and bathroom in general), the rates are reasonable.

hooray for dating!

—–

I’ve posted a lot about marriage this year, more than usual for sure. I hope you’re all not rolling your eyes when another 12 in ’12 date post pops up on the blog.

But this has been on my mind a lot lately, in the wake of news of another couple we know who are separated, which just breaks my heart.

Matt’s and my marriage is far, far from perfect. Now, I do think that our marriage is wonderful, and I love it, and I have no regrets about marrying Matt, but it’s flawed because we are flawed. We fight. Sometimes, stupidly and repeatedly, about the same things. We let things build up over time and then blow up at each other. We definitely get it wrong more than I care to admit.

For a while now, though, I’ve tried to view marriage as a living, breathing thing in place of the idea of “being married.” It should grow and change and hopefully mature (but still laughs at the same immature jokes, of course) like the people in it. Like any living thing, it needs to be given attention or it will suffer and, worst case scenario, die.

These years we’re in, the ones saturated with kids (for a while, it seemed, constantly having babies) and their activities and just simply turning them into real people with manners and an ability to navigate the world are consuming, yo. It’s been hard over the years to find time to focus on our marriage, and I know we aren’t the only ones who feel this way.

However, it’s downright foolish to think that we can just tread water for these many kid-rearing years and find a happy, healthy marriage waiting for us there after the boys all graduate, like the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. So we have to make time for each other, and we have to let the kids know that our marriage is really, really important.

A week before our scheduled 12 in ’12 date, our Sunday night small group (Bible study) ended up not meeting last minute. Yes, we could have saved money by cancelling the sitter, but instead, Matt put together a little evening outing for us, involving 3 places I’d never been before in STL. It’s one that I’ll definitely remember because it was so fun to be surprised by every stop we made, since he didn’t tell me ahead of time where we were going.

We started at Llywelyn’s for a drink and appetizer, then took a drive to see an area Matt wanted to check out, and then went to Michael’s in Maplewood for gyros (SO. GOOD.). It started pouring rain so we couldn’t make our last stop, which was a drink at the top of the Moonrise Hotel, so we subbed in a shared piece of cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory.

Anyway, my long-winded point is this: take care of your marriage. Plan a surprise outing for your spouse. You’ll be glad you did.

7 responses to “12 in ’12: Date #6

  1. Awesome, Nicole. Always a good reminder. πŸ™‚

  2. haglerhappenings

    Good to hear. What’s the saying? “The grass is always greener where you water it.” (And can you two just take one bad picture? I think you hold the record for the most “really good couples shots.” Alex & I have maybe 3. lol.)

  3. Excellent, excellent . . . on every point! (And I could copy & paste Jill’s whole comment!) Kudos to Matt for his impromtu surprise outing Sunday night! Thank you for all those years of working at Homewood Grill so that my son could discover you. I think you were both God-sent to each other. πŸ™‚

  4. I LOVE these posts! They are so fun to read and I look forward to them each time. And to your point on these being tough years in a marriage with all the crazy kid/baby stuff, I say “Word!”. So true! SHEW! Jeremy and I have been talking a LOT about marriage lately. We had an interesting conversation just the other day about how our kids will be in the minority (regarding our marriage still being to the original people we married) as they get older and how sad that is to us. We have GOT to cherish our marriage and our partner enough to cultivate that love and keep it going.

    This was my favorite thing you said “For a while now, though, I’ve tried to view marriage as a living, breathing thing in place of the idea of β€œbeing married.” It should grow and change and hopefully mature (but still laughs at the same immature jokes, of course) like the people in it. Like any living thing, it needs to be given attention or it will suffer and, worst case scenario, die.”

    Thanks for the encouragement to keep loving and keep dating my hubby. πŸ˜‰

Talk to me!

