First Day of Preschool, Take 6

Take 6 for me, at least. Take 2 for this guy.

For the past 12 days, we have been counting down until preschool starts. We even practiced cutting skills by making a 12-link paper chain. Daily, Jack Henry would tear off a link, announce to the family how many more days were left, and let out some kind of squeal of excitement. He couldn’t wait!

And then, Tuesday morning rolled around. I was busy around the house in the morning, and he got to watch a show on PBS after he was ready to go. He came to me complaining of a belly ache, and that’s when I knew…he doesn’t want to go to preschool. Actually, he wanted to go to the second day of school, just not the first, and I can appreciate the sentiment…let’s just get past this uncomfortable day.

This teeny, tiny part of me wanted to just say, “OK, buddy. We’ll just stay here, me and you, for the next 12 years or so, pretending like time doesn’t march on. Good idea.”

He cried a little bit, and I assured him that even though the school and kids and teachers were all new to him (remember?), he’d do just fine, and so much of it would be like last year. He dried his tears and got in the van, and though tentative when we arrived at the new school, he was OK. Not beaming when I left him, but playing.

I fell apart when I got to the van, and cried it out.

Then I went to Lowe’s and Joann Fabric and the mall for a quick pickup of Bennett’s ridiculously-expensive socks (that I’m willing to buy because he wears them without complaint), and before I knew it, time was up and I went back to get him.

He greeted me at the door with a huge grin on his face, and talked incessantly on the way home about how his day had gone. I was so relieved!

This morning, Jack Henry got up and ready with a smile on his face, and went off to preschool without a problem. I think we’re in the clear.

And then driving by a park on the way home made me tear up. I don’t even like that park, but I took Jack Henry there last week just for something different, and all of these feelings of “oh my gosh, I should have made more time to take them to the park while they’re little” crept in.

Gah. Hang on, folks. This year could be a hormonal ride.

9 responses to “First Day of Preschool, Take 6

  1. I’m having all kinds of “oh my gosh, I should have . . . ” moments this week thinking about Jack starting kindergarten next week.

  2. Oh man, I loved this whole post, esp the pics!! I love how you take “kid & Dad” pics–LOVE the one w/ the big boys “crying”–and just love JH’s big smiles!! A big week for sure!! I’m so happy that he’s jumped right in and likes his new school. It’ll be interesting to see who he gravitates to as best friends!

    I’m also a sentimental one to the extreme. That doesn’t go away, no matter how old they get! Heck, I’m feeling your emotions too–thinking about how YOU’RE feeling, as well as feeling them from NANA JO’s perspective! I’m already completely in denial that my 1st grandchild is going to be in double-digits in Dec. I don’t like it!!!! 😦

  3. Love your last sentence and it summarizes my current state of hormones since June to a “t”. 🙂 Glad JH loved preschool – we conquer first day jitters with KT next week – I just have this gut feeling that it is not going to go well….. for either of us…… ugh.

    • good luck, KT! and know this: very few kids, past the first couple of days of school, cry more than at drop-off as a show for mom. she’s going to be fine! 🙂

  4. this reminds me not to be in such a rush for my munchkins to grow up. thanks Nicole. (but I’m still a teensy bit jealous!)

  5. wait, double digits?! that can’t be right! eeks! oh, JH, how adorably sweet is your smile?! and i had to giggle at the “belly ache” he acquired. you might have your hands full someday… 🙂

Talk to me!

