On Compassion

I mentioned a while ago that I was a part of the Compassion Bloggers group…I’m not sure what happened, but somehow, I stopped getting emails about the program. Sorry for the delay in continuity 🙂 Also, this is last week’s writing prompt, which I started writing about several days ago, and then, as you’ll notice, I posted nothing all week. It’s busy around here.

Anyway.

This month, Compassion International is doing a huge sponsorship drive, and they’re using their network of Compassion Bloggers to make it happen. The goal is 3,108 children sponsored during the month of September. 3,108!

I love partnering with Compassion. Our family has chosen to do so in 2 ways: through the 2 boys we sponsor, Jeremy (born on the same day as Luke) and Joangel (born on the same day as Bennett); and also, 15% of the proceeds of my etsy shop always go to Compassion’s Child Survival Program, which offers prenatal care, infant care training, and much more to women in poverty.

As I was thinking about this post, I asked myself why we chose Compassion, and the answer is 2-fold. One: I absolutely love how they partner with local churches to form child development centers, where kids who are sponsored get food and clean water, an education, and exposure to the Gospel. They do this efficiently, and the relationship that forms between sponsor family and child is huge blessing to both parties.

The second reason is this: I’m a mom. I’ve been blessed beyond measure to have been born in a land of opportunity and abundance. I always have enough to feed my children. I always have shelter for them. We live in a fantastic school district. There are lots of things that I think and worry about though, of course…when they’re sick, I want them better. I wonder what they’ll be when they grow up, and if I’ve done things well enough as a mom to make them responsible, loving adults.

Moms the world over ponder these same things. But many of them also worry daily about providing food and shelter, not to mention an education, for their children; all things that are not even concerns for me. Knowing that we can make some sacrifices here to take some of that worry away from them works for us.

If you’ve been thinking about a way to get your family involved in something life-changing, consider sponsoring a child today. The website provides you with lots of ways to choose a child to sponsor: by country, by birthdate, by how long they’ve been waiting for a sponsor, and more.

Here’s what it requires from you: $38/month, a commitment to pray for your sponsored child, and writing him/her letters several times a year, which is a great way to involve your kids in the process.

If you aren’t able to sponsor a child today, I completely understand, but I ask that you pray that these kids will find a sponsor really soon!

One response to “On Compassion

  1. Good post–and it reminds me that I need to get a letter written (which, thankfully, is easier than ever now that we can do it online 🙂 ). “Our” Edward, from Tanzania, is 9 yo.

Talk to me!

