For Real?

I know…try to contain yourselves…TWO posts in ONE day? Surely this is a sign of the apocalypse.

When my friend Kathy, mom of 3 boys and 1 sweet girl, posted this link on Facebook, I had to scoot over here to my blog and write about it.

It seems that an overzealous police officer in Piedmont, Oklahoma, has fined the mother of a 3-year-old boy $2500 because he peed in their own front yard. Yup, that’s a public urination ticket.

Can you even believe that?

As Kathy commented, she’d owe millions if her boys were caught (they live on a farm, so hopefully, she’s safe from a drive-by ticket). Um, so would we. But we live smack in the middle of suburbia.

Let me illustrate this for you with a couple of scenarios:

*Luke. 3 years old. Labor Day weekend. Stands on sidewalk, pees on tree in our yard a few feet away.

*Luke and Bennett, ages 4 1/2 and 2 respectively. Their mother, large and pregnant, spends many a summer afternoon out in the backyard with them, playing in their little pool (trust me, on the hottest of days, I even got in there with them). To avoid having to haul my giant self up out of my chair, dry them off, and get them through the house without getting everything wet when they had to pee, I designated a corner of the house that was pretty out-of-sight (save one neighbor) for peeing. Matt didn’t even know this until we moved 2.5 years ago.

*Jack Henry, being potty-trained at this house, age almost 3. We had a huge hedge of burning bush at the corner of our lot at the time, and it shielded our yard from the cul-de-sac. Perfect outside peeing place for little boys.

Currently, there is no good place to pee outside at this house that provides some cover…Bennett is super-modest, so I really don’t think he’s going outside, Luke is WAAAY old enough to know better, and Jack Henry is never outside on his own. So as far as I know, this isn’t happening here.

Nonetheless, I’m going to tell them about this story to make sure they make it inside every time nature calls.

5 responses to “For Real?

  1. Are you freaking kidding me!??!?! Surely this will be thrown out by the judge! IT is ridiculous!! My DAUGHTERS pee in our yard when swimming or playing in the sprinklers – like you said – so much easier to have them do that then to dry them, etc just to run in the house to tinkle – especailly when Katie goes like 1800 times a day!
    I hope the cops never pass our house slowly – because i can tell you – the girls aren’t always behind trees – sometimes they just stop where ever they are and whip down their bottoms and pop a squat!!! 🙂
    {{For those of you reading this – i live in the country and our yard is off the road, quite a bit…. and people drive past our house TOO fast anyway so i don’t think anyone has ever witnessed – didn’t want anyone thinking i was in the middle of a crowded subdivision – ha}} 🙂

  2. I’d think that police officer in OK would be the laughing stock of the whole area!! What a nut job. (Whoops, sorry; no pun intended!!)

    The only one of your bullet points I knew about was the 1st one!! Regarding your 2nd one: not telling Matt was probably a good idea, and only those who know Matt know why I say that!! 😦

  3. Funny how I read this after I just had Kaylee pee by the side of the van because we were not going to make it to a bathroom. (Her mother should not try to push her so long while on a road trip:). Parking lot in an outlet mall is probably considered public, huh? 🙂

Talk to me!

