Strange, but Harmless

I try to bring you accurate, current medical updates when I can, because that’s just the kind of friend I am. (Also – I totally missed my calling in life. I should’ve been a nurse. I know that now.)

Remember Jack Henry’s teething freakshow? (For real, people, if you haven’t seen that, take a look.)

Or Bennett giving himself a frenectomy (that didn’t work, and then he had to have one surgically)?

Or how Bennett passes out when he loses teeth?

Or our trillions of croup episodes, or crazy allergic reactions to amoxicillin?

Well, here’s a new one for you:

It’s called geographic tongue. And Jack Henry has it.

As the title says, it’s harmless. The dentist and hygienist mentioned today that we could see the spots migrate around his tongue, but that generally, people don’t report that it’s painful or causes any issues.

Weird.

9 responses to “Strange, but Harmless

  1. Well, that’s a new one!! Quirky!!

  2. I had that for years until after I was diagnosed with celiac disease. It was no big deal, really. I just had to make sure I didn’t stiuck my tongue out at people. 🙂

  3. http://www.celiac.com/articles/22436/1/Geographic-Tongue-Glossitis-and-its-Relationship-with-Celiac-Disease/Page1.html

    On the other hand, I married into a family where there are many with geographic tongue and none of them have celiac.

  4. i have a little thing for weird. as in, i love a little weirdness in my life. fortunately, we have had our fair share of the odd as well as B also welcomed one of his teeth via a bloody blister that did indeed pop and cover his mouth in red. no appreciation for the weird of it at the time; i was only finding it terrifying! and i have geographic tongue. as claimed, totally harmless (and painless) but definitely weird.

  5. Awesome! I once took a kid to the doctor because she was complaining of a sore throat and when I asked her to stick out her tongue I saw the most enormous bumps on the back of it. The doc looked in, smirked and said not to worry. Those are her larger taste buds. Everyone has them, she can just stick her tongue out REALLY far so they’re visible. My kids are weird, too.

Talk to me!

