Eight.

I started writing this on April 6…since Bennett’s birthday is April 7…and it’s now April 23…

I had all of these thoughts in my head that just haven’t made it to the computer regarding Bennett’s birthday (delayed for the most part by me needing to finish up a mere 1635 magnets from the last Very Jane sale, which are finally done! OH, and the past 2 weeks having a combined 17 baseball games and practices.). In typical “you’re the second kid, sorry,” fashion, I’m now days late and well, it is what it is.

As I reread his seventh birthday post, I really felt like, “Yep, that’s still a really good description of him!” His intensity, for the most part, is working to his advantage, and I sincerely hope that only improves with age (though, don’t misunderstand me…he’s such a typical sibling, particularly in his ability to instigate). He’s improving as a student, and, I think, overall becoming more confident in his abilities, as well as just understanding who he is a little better.

While his love and understanding for sports has only grown in the past year, I’d say that the best by-product of this is that his bond with Matt has strengthened because of their shared love of Illini basketball and the game of baseball. Luke really likes both of them, too (Jack Henry’s interest is increasing, but he’s just not there yet)…Bennett’s just more passionate about them. And, frankly, about everything in his life.

Case in point: his teacher has this cute birthday bag that goes home with each kid on their birthday. There’s a book to read and an activity to do, which is to fill in a page with a picture and a couple of sentences about what you would wish for if you had one wish. Nearly every entry in the book from his classmates is for an iPad or something similar. Bennett got the book, and thought for a while about what one wish he wanted, and he couldn’t come up with a “thing” that he really wants (which is fine by me…he has enough stuff, and he’s just not a “stuff” kind of kid, anyway). So here’s what he wrote:

20130423-131631.jpg

I wish for the Illini to win a National Championship and for Illini to win a Big 10 Title in the same year.

For real. This is his one wish.

Of course, I haven’t planned a friend party for him yet. I think we know what we’re doing, but it’s not on the calendar, and there is no excuse (I mean, HELLO, I KNOW his birthday is coming every year) except to say that I suck at planning birthday parties, plain and simple.

However, we did have a really fun family birthday party for him and his cousin Will over Easter weekend, and I have the pictures to prove it. And, we did celebrate our boy as a family on his actual birthday. So don’t feel too bad for him.

Take a look!

my nephew will and bennett...they are such good buddies!

my nephew will and bennett…they are such good buddies!

:)

🙂

there was an unfortunate accident with the cookie cake...still delicious, though.

there was an unfortunate accident with the cookie cake…still delicious, though.

i love this kid so much!

i love this kid so much!

the fam on easter morning

the fam on easter morning

brownies were his requested bday treat...and isn't that magnet picture that JH made for him cute?

brownies were his requested bday treat…and isn’t that magnet picture that JH made for him cute?

posing goofy, on purpose

posing goofy, on purpose

presents from mom & dad!  that giant backpack is his baseball gear bag for the team he's on this year.

presents from mom & dad! that giant backpack is his baseball gear bag for the team he’s on this year.

2 responses to “Eight.

  1. I didn’t even realize you hadn’t posted about B’s bd, but it’s fun to read about it now that you did! I do love it that he is so two-sided: i-n-t-e-n-s-e & sweet! It’s hard being the middle kid, esp when they’re all the same gender, so it’s neat to see him develop “who he is”! LOVE his bd wish!! 🙂

    That cake magnet is so cool! Also fun to see his at-home presents!

  2. love that kid so much! really hope your wish comes true, too, B! 🙂

Talk to me!

