Mother’s Day 2013

When Mother’s Day rolls around each year, I try to fight the urge to focus on how many years it’s been since we last celebrated with my mom, and try hard to stay in the moment around here in my role as Mom.

For the record, it’s been 5. Each one as sucky and as beautiful as the one before.

In choosing to focus on the here and now, we had a really fun day. It consisted of:
-church
-a hike in Castlewood
-delicious leftovers from Cake-n-Steak last night for today’s lunch
-major tree trimming that was supposed to be minor tree-trimming, but all of the work is done
-a quick run to the mall
-one of my favorite games with the boys, throwing pop flies off the deck for them to catch
-gifts from my boys: 2 maxi dresses that I wanted (plus Matt being super cool about how much I’m shopping lately to get new clothes that fit!)
-a Wii Sports Resort Tournament
-capped off by sushi for a girl who hates seafood (it’s so delicious: just avocado, cucumber, rice and pink soy paper – not a bit of seafood in sight!) and the 2 hour finale of Revenge.

And in reflecting on the past, this quote from an unlikely source: Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone, spoken by Dumbledore to Harry about Voldemort:

He didn’t realize that love as powerful as your mother’s for you leaves its own mark. Not a scar, no visible sign…to have been loved so deeply, even though the person who loved us is gone, will give us some protection forever. It is in your very skin.”

Amen.

One response to “Mother’s Day 2013

  1. Oh my–I was just reading along, smiling, & then that quote hit me & made me tear-up!!!

    Your day sounded great–from the spiritual to the productive to the food to the fun!!!!! (Major “yay” for you–needing new clothes! 🙂 )

Talk to me!

