Snapshot: The Soap

I’m posting this as a snapshot of life right now. A reminder of where we are, because I know without this, I’ll someday forget about the soap.

I don’t know about your house, but here, with boys 10, 8, and 5, this is what shower time looks like:
-all 3 boys upstairs, 1 parent in the hallway outside the bathroom
-boys taking turns brushing teeth, showering, getting pjs on
-monitoring parent in the hall constantly trying to keep the assembly line moving, often questioning to the kid in the shower, “what are you doing? Just get clean!”

The answer from the shower is always “I’m almost done” or “I’m washing the shampoo out of my hair.”

However, no one has mentioned this.

20130516-230145.jpg

Surprisingly, no one has mentioned that they’re busy digging holes through the soap.

I can’t wait to hear this explained in the morning.

—–

UPDATE: First thing this morning, Luke was brushing his teeth so I stopped at the bathroom door and said, “So, what do you know about the holes in the soap?” He grinned, and said, “I don’t know…I think both Bennett and I were doing it.”

Bennett walked out of his room (wearing clothes that don’t match again…seriously, how long does it take to learn this?) and I asked him the same question. He totally giggled, and then demonstrated while using this funny voice of his, saying, “They’re finger holes! You know, I put my fingers through them, and then I can wash my legs up and down without dropping the soap!” This actual use was obviously news to Luke, based on his funny reaction.

I was laughing so hard. I mean, Matt and I thought this was hilarious last night, but hearing Bennett’s explanation really cracked me up! I never dreamed those holes were actually serving a purpose.

9 responses to “Snapshot: The Soap

  1. That is awesome!!!!

  2. Whaaaaaat?? This oughta be good!

  3. i love boys. simply love them!

  4. Holly Roseman

    You guys need to market that. Holes in the soap! Fabulous idea.

  5. Don’t drop the soap!

  6. Love this so much! Laughing. Smart kiddos right there!

  7. Your boys’ explanation on what is taking so long is much nicer than my boys’. It usually involves specifics as to what body part(s) they are STILL washing

  8. 1) Finger holes in soap: He should call Dove and sell that idea!
    2) Tonight I checked on Will’s status in the shower and asked if all he was doing was standing there. He said, “no,” then after a long pause said, “I’m singing too.” Great.

Talk to me!

