Just Keepin’ It Real

I took the boys to Forest Park last week to check a couple of things off our summer to-do list! It wasn’t a pretty, sunny afternoon, but we were able to do everything we wanted.

First up: the St. Louis Art Museum, which was a place I just felt like the kids should be able to say they’ve been to. I prefaced our trip there with warnings about how much nudity they would see there in sculpture and in paintings, but I still don’t think it was enough. They were shocked, with Jack Henry giving this basic recap: “I’m not going back. It’s just old stuff and naked body parts.” True story.

We followed that up with a trip over to the Boathouse, where we rented a paddleboat (me + the 3 boys, Matt was on his way to meet us after work). If it wasn’t for the threat of rain, I’d have paddled us all the way over to the Grand Basin. The 2 older boys helped a lot with the paddling, but it was mostly on me, and it was hard work!

Then, we met Matt for dinner on the deck at the Boathouse, a place I say is good but not great in terms of food, but has such a fun atmosphere that it makes up for it, making it a fun family dinner place.

Every single time we leave Forest Park, we lament that we don’t go there often enough. It’s such a treasure!

Onto the title of this post, which is told in these pictures:

only attempt at a decent group shot.  you can see there's already some nonsense going on...

only attempt at a decent group shot. you can see there’s already some nonsense going on…

and then this, 3 seconds later. all the time.  it's like having puppies.

and then this, 3 seconds later. all the time. it’s like having puppies.

And then the rest of our time there:

gotta pose at the statue!

gotta pose at the statue!

looking out over the grand basin.

looking out over the grand basin.

on the steps of SLAM

on the steps of SLAM

the armor and weapon rooms were their favorites!

the armor and weapon rooms were their favorites!

12 responses to “Just Keepin’ It Real

  1. “it’s like having puppies” HILARIOUS!

  2. I have some puppies of my own πŸ™‚

  3. Love that header photo!! Sounds like a great outing–hilarious pics! Classic JH remark about “naked body parts”!! Reading through this, I must have mentally said for the bazillionth time that you have a lot more fun w/ your kids than I did when mine were their age!!

    Other than the bittersweet Kindergarten send-off tomorrow for your baby, you must be nearly fainting w/ inner joy over the thought of school starting! It blows my mind that your kids are actually starting school on Aug 13, though! That’s just not right!!

    • I know…it’s SO early. But we are very much ready over here! I feel like I need a week of sending them to school under my belt before I’m fully going to realize how awesome it is that this is finally here! You should see the lists I’ve made myself πŸ™‚

  4. good idea! and it is like having puppies…

  5. owensjudy@aol.com

    You expose your boys to so much. What a great Mom!

    Judy O.

  6. “it’s like having puppies?” STILL? You are like light years ahead of me….and I say that all the time. Okay, I say, “like herding cats,” but same diff. GAH! Kindergarten is just 1 year and 3 weeks away for my twins, not that I’m counting. Enjoy your peace and quiet – send me some of those vibes.

    • haha! I have to admit…this time alone is already glorious! You’ll get there before you know it!

      But yes. They just love to wrestle and tussle. All the time!

Talk to me!

