Homework and Small Miracles

Today after school was a fairly typical day…pick up the kids, come home for a snack, quick ortho appointment for Luke (no braces yet – probably still a year away), and then home for homework, dinner, showers, family viewing of last week’s “Great Food Truck Race,” etc.

However, for the first time, all 3 kids had homework this evening. And all of them needed some degree of help from me. AND, I had several things that needed to get done before I could even start dinner. I kinda feel like I thrive on this chaos, though, so this doesn’t freak me out, and my kids are old enough to help with things so here’s how it went down:

-tell Luke to start his homework
-help Jack Henry get started on his milestones project, and while he’s working…
-fill out Bennett’s field trip paperwork, and oh yeah, Mom? Will you please go with me on this one?
-Sidenote: pray for me as I ride the bus to the Botanical Gardens with 3rd graders (if I get picked to go)
-ask B if he’d please at least start unloading the dishwasher while I help Luke with science homework (shoot me now – levers and fulcrums. I hate.)
-check in with JH, who’s doing fine and dandy on his project
-watch in amazement as B asks if he should also just go ahead and load the dirty dishes into the dishwasher, since he’s finished unloading it completely (YES.)
-work through Order of Operations math homework with Luke (which I actually enjoy, probably because this is about the hardest math that I understand)
-realize, while working with Luke, that B and JH are playing quietly together. This is newsworthy, because they are often not besties. THEN realize that no, they AREN’T playing, Jack Henry is quizzing Bennett on his spelling words list.

What?

20130903-213611.jpg

I wish I could figure out what made this amazingness happen so I could replicate it, but we all know that’s pointless, so I’m just enjoying this today, and bracing for the normal that will likely be back tomorrow.

PS…If you haven’t read Jen Hatmaker’s “Hope for Spicy Families” get on over there and do that now. I love my spicy family!

7 responses to “Homework and Small Miracles

  1. I don’t know what a fulcrum is. 😦 Also, brotherly love makes my heart melt most.

    • It’s so sweet. 🙂

      And hopefully Paige isn’t going to study levers this year. Then you won’t have to familiarize yourself with them just yet.

  2. First, I am so intimidated by the thought of homework–what on earth are Ron & I going to do when we stay w/ the boys in Oct while you’re in Boston????? Let’s pray Ron can handle the math (even so, math is a totally different subject than it used to be!), & let’s hope they’re studying more interesting topics than levers in science. 😦 And special projects–whoa!

    The cooperative behavior–I agree: just enjoy it when it unexpectedly happens! LOVE the spelling list pic–so darned cute!!

  3. um, is JH some kind of child prodigy?! cause i’m pretty sure he shouldn’t be able to be the spelling teacher at his age! 🙂 i would love to have B over here unloading my dishwasher which likely won’t be getting unloaded tonight…..hopefully tomorrow….

  4. ♡♥♡♥♡♥ doesn’t it just melt your mommy heart???

Talk to me!

