That’s Brothers for Ya

Several weeks ago, while in Effingham for a family reunion with Matt’s side, the boys were playing in the basement at Matt’s parents’ house. Matt’s cousin, Andy, had gone downstairs for a minute and when he came back up, mentioned that 2 of 3 Diehl boys weren’t bleeding. I laughed and said something like, “That’s good!”, thinking he was joking, so I didn’t go check on the situation.

He wasn’t joking. When Jack Henry came upstairs much later, he had a bloody mark next to his nose.

The boys had been running around with some little horses, and Bennett apparently (accidentally, he claims) ran into Jack Henry’s face with the hoof of a hard plastic horse. It made a little puncture wound.

I called Bennett upstairs to talk about this, and he was like, “What? It was an accident. I took care of it. I got him a wet kleenex to clean up the blood, and he wasn’t really crying that much, so I didn’t get you.”

Score one for older kids: no need to involve Mom when a wet kleenex takes care of the blood.

One of Matt’s other cousins, Becca, is married to a doctor (Bryan), so I asked him to take a look at it. No stitches needed, but he said it would probably heal with a little pucker. And wouldn’t you know it, he was right.

jh face scar

I realize that a close-up picture of the scar at this point would make for a better blog post. However, he’s at school right now, and I don’t have a pic of the scar, so you seeing the location of it is just going to have to do.

So JH now has this still-pink, relatively-fresh puckered scar right next to his nose. On the way to church Sunday morning, he was touching it and said he liked how it felt. I told him, “You know, that scar will be there forever. It won’t always be that pink, but that texture* will stay the same.”

To which smarty-pants Bennett** immediately chimes, “You’re welcome, Jack.”

Me: “What? You’re welcome?”

B: “Yeah. Scars are cool, man. And I gave that one to him.”

Sheesh.

here they are in a moment of togetherness that did not involve an injury.  that particular flight of the styrofoam plane was ill-fated, though.

here they are in a moment of togetherness that did not involve an injury. that particular flight of the styrofoam plane was ill-fated, though.

*school tie-in, he’s learning about different textures right now, go me.
**Increasingly becoming really funny, when he’s not busy annoying me or his brothers or injuring someone.

4 responses to “That’s Brothers for Ya

  1. I love this story so much!! Boys love battle wounds. Just awesome.

  2. HA! I love this. I can so relate too. This morning, Cooper walked by Chase and face-pushed him. Chase’s head hit the corner of a chair. All I heard was screaming. I asked Chase what happened and he said Cooper pushed him. I asked Cooper why he pushed him and he said he didn’t push him, he just “went like that” made a face-push sign. Um, yeah, that’s pushing. Sigh…

  3. Loved reading about this since, in the frenzy of the festivities–& my near-emotional-coma over the dead a.c.–I didn’t ever get the story!

    So glad Bennett could do this awesomely cool thing for his little brother! 😉

Talk to me!

