Big List o’ Workouts

First of all, thank you for the response to yesterday’s post. It’s really encouraging to me to see that you’re inspired by the work that Kelli and I did, and I am SO excited by the amount of you who started My Fitness Pal yesterday!

In regards to working out, I’d say that if I was ever to be famous for saying something, it would be for the number of times I’ve told people how much I hate a) sweating and b) being out of breath. I can honestly say that over the last year, this is no longer true. I love to sweat now (caveat: I love to sweat if I’ve been working hard; just sweating because it’s 102 and I’m sitting in the baseball bleachers still stinks), and being out of breath, well, that’s just part of it all. I don’t love that, but I haven’t died yet because of it, so that’s good.

This post will be full of links to an app I adore and various workouts I’ve done over the last year and liked (I’ll omit the ones I hated, or the ones with creepy trainers). Lots of them are free online, some of them are Pinterest pins, and some are links to DVDs that are really affordable. Of course, I’ll add commentary, because I am incapable of not.

Before you buy the DVDs, you may check your local library, or check prices on half.com for used copies! I’m linking to Amazon because it’s easiest, and if you’re buying new, generally the cheapest.

Also: I work out about 5 days a week, trying to space the rest days out as evenly as possible. Do whatever you can!

Favorite app:
1. Map My Run. It uses GPS to track your workout, whether it’s walking, hiking, jogging or one of the other various activities programmed into the app. The GPS has only been wrong a couple of times, but generally, it’s a great resource to tell you how far you went, how fast, and how many calories you burned. I love it. And getting this year-end review in an email? Made my day! I started using the app in the middle of May, so I’m pretty proud of this.

photo (1)

Favorite Pins-on-Pinterest-At-Home-Workouts (generally done in conjunction with other exercise – click on the picture to be taken to the original websites!) Also – if you don’t know what some of these exercises are, just google it and you’ll get youtube videos showing you how to do them! I’ve done that a lot.
1. thigh exercises

2. dropapantssize

3. Pilates Butt and Thigh Burnout
(9 minutes that will make you want to scream in pain)

Higher impact workouts:
1. Jillian Michaels’ The Shred
This is the holy grail of 25 minute at-home workouts. It’s no joke, but to me, it’s truly the best kickstart to a diet plan. I still use it now, just in a rotation of lots of other workouts. There are 3 levels, and I’d definitely start on level 1 if you’ve not been working out at all. It’s entirely possible that you’ll be so sore that the motion of sitting down on the toilet is painful for a day or two. However, you will think it’s worth it when you’ve burned calories and get to put that in on My Fitness Pal!

You’ll need some small handweights…3-5 lbs to start, maybe 8 lbs later.

Here is level 1 for free:

2. Jillian Michaels’ Shred It With Weights
This is Jillian’s kettlebell workout. I’d recommend a 7-lb kettlebell to start. I really love using a kettlebell…she says you can use a handweight, but it’s really awkward. Get a real kettlebell…you can find them cheaper at TJMaxx and the like, but they are filled with sand and they are so bulky. Not worth it.

Here’s level 1 for free:

3. Jillian Michaels’ Six Week Six Pack
I don’t use any of these workouts for the specified amount of time…these are just all done in rotation. So I have no idea if you can really get yourself a fine six-pack in six weeks, but I CAN guarantee that you will be able to tell you’ve done this workout.

Here’s level 1 for free. I have the DVD, and level 2 is hardcore, but I love it.

4. Jillian Michaels’ Kickboxing
I have to admit; this isn’t my favorite. I’ve done it lots of times, though, because it’s good cardio. The kickboxing in #6 below is BY FAR better and more fun. But, this one is shorter.

She does have another kickboxing DVD that I haven’t done yet, but Kelli has.

5. Chris Freytag’s 40 minute Circuit Workout
Great full body workout! You’ll need some handweights for all of her workouts but kickboxing.

6. Chris Freytag’s 40 minute Kickboxing
This is my current favorite workout, since I can’t do my friend Heather’s kickboxing class every Saturday!

7. Chris Freytag’s 40 minute Upper Body Workout
I LOVE this one. It’s really tough. Not as much cardio, but lots of great strength circuits.

8. Chris Freytag’s 40 minute Core Workout
Honestly, if we’re isolating the core for a workout, I like Jillian’s 6-pack workout a little better than this one, but it’s still definitely good enough to include in this list!

9. Chris Freytag’s 40 minute Lower Body Workout
I’ve only done this one once, and I’m not gonna lie: it was difficult. I’ll be going back to it in the next couple of days for sure. It says 50 minutes, but there is some other 10 minute workout after the 40-minute lower body one.

10. Jillian Michaels’ Banish Fat Boost Metabolism Workout
It’s almost an hour long…not hard in terms of what you’re doing, but lots of cardio. It’s available for purchase on DVD, but the whole thing is free here:

Lower impact options, that I sometimes do when I’m sore and just need a good stretching workout:
1. Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown
Level 1 is free, and I haven’t used the other levels on the DVD. Also, unrelated, but Jillian looks really pretty in this video.

2. The Studio Fat Burning Fusion
If you grew up a dancer like me, you might enjoy this. It’s not as low-impact as the yoga one, but not as intense as any of those listed above. Great stretching, and fun little choreography.

When you’re entering your time on MFP, you simply click on the exercise button, and for all of the higher impact workouts, I use the Circuit Training category. Kickboxing has its own category that you can use, as it burns more calories, and walking and running at various speeds are categories to select on there as well.

You’ll also see these exercise categories:
1. Cleaning, which is something I’ll use when I’ve done something way above and beyond my normal everyday cleaning.
2. Shoveling. I freaking hate the winter (more now than I used to for sure), but shoveling snow? It’s a great workout. I’ll take it.
3. Raking leaves, and other gardening/yardwork. It’s hard work, and it’s a good diversion from the everyday workout.

Like yesterday, I’m sure I’ve forgotten something, so feel free to ask questions!

One response to “Big List o’ Workouts

  1. This is a fantastic post with lots of great information! Thanks for sharing!

Talk to me!

