Spelling Bee: Prep.

Luke and Bennett took their district’s written spelling bee test on Monday. Luke found out today that he made it into the school-wide oral spelling bee, held next week (Bennett didn’t do too shabby on the pre-test, either; 17 of 25 words, which were the same for 3rd-5th graders. He needed a 21 to move on.).

Needless to say, Luke’s pretty excited!

He brought home the study guide, a list of 450 words of varying difficulty to study. We spent some time this afternoon going over part of the list, and when Matt got home, Luke asked him to quiz him on a row of words, too.

When I quizzed Luke earlier, on one of the words, he asked me for a definition. The word was “ailment.” I answered, “Illness.” He said ok, and spelled it correctly, telling me that he wanted to be sure it wasn’t something to do with beer, and therefore starting with “ale.”

1. It totally reminded me of a real spelling bee.
2. Our kid knows that ale is a type of beer, and that’s what his first thought was. Is this normal?

So when Matt started quizzing him, I retold the story of Luke asking for a definition. Which made Matt chuckle and say, “Yeah, do you want me to use that in a sentence?”

The word was “nigh.”

Matt’s sentence: “See if you can spell the word ‘nigh.'”

Clearly, he’s going to be really helpful with this process.

We’re working from the middle area of the sheet…here are some others as they get harder:
verdure
epizootic
dirndl
elegiac
revanche
importunate

So…yeah. I’m going to take this as seriously as Luke wants to, and wish him the best on Wednesday next week as he competes!

7 responses to “Spelling Bee: Prep.

  1. Oh my gosh, spelling bee–I just love this!! (Nana Jo was the 5th grade winner in her middle school & got to compete in the 5-8th grade school contest!) So glad Luke’s doing this, but I’m sure it’s very nerve-racking for you! Sure is a learning experience, even learning to pronounce the words! In that list of 6 words, I’ve never heard of 4 of them.

  2. I need a dictionary…

  3. Daniel’s doing it too. Last night Eric and I went through the list pointing out to each other all the words we’ve never even heard of! Humbling!

  4. I was just going to say I need to get my dictionary but good to see I am not alone! Good luck to Luke. He sounds like a very serious young man!

Talk to me!

