Spelling Bee: Results

After 8 days of prep, today was the big day. The spelling bee.

Luke and 17 other 3rd-5th graders got the chance to participate in the school-wide spelling bee this afternoon. I honestly had no idea what to expect in terms of how well he would do. I mean, he studied his butt off this past week…he couldn’t have done much more in terms of being prepared. But I just didn’t know how he’d cope under pressure, how the other kids would do, etc.

It went so, so much better than I ever could’ve expected!

Matt’s mom and dad joined me for the day, which was so fun. I was really glad they were in the audience with me. When we got there, I could tell Luke was nervous, but he seemed ok.

The first round consisted of very simple words, almost a warm-up for the kids. Over the next couple of rounds, only a few kids misspelled their words, but by round 6, it was down to 7.

4 kids were left by round 8. Including Luke. This was about the time I felt like I may be developing an ulcer.

Round 9. 3 kids. And this is where Luke made an error. On the word isochronous.

Yeah. No shame in losing on a word most people have never heard, right? 🙂 We’d studied more than 3/4 of the list, and this was a word we didn’t get to. Oh well.

spelling bee 1

so i hate the angle i had for pictures. we were the first ones there, and could’ve sat at the back of the room looking straight on at the kids. but, i thought, they’ll turn towards the audience to spell their words, and i’ll have a great side angle. nope. they looked at the judges. obviously. so this is the best i got.

spelling bee 2

quick pic with nana jo and papa ron before they headed home!

Here’s the list of words he got today (minus one none of us can remember):
silly
globe
science
bountiful
courtier
bazooka
erstwhile
isochronous

I’ll finish this up with a little note to my boy.

Dear Luke,

I just want to tell you one more time how proud I am of you. Not just for finishing in the top 3 today; I would’ve been proud no matter what round you exited in. What I want you to know is that I’m so, so proud of the effort you put into studying for this.

And I hope that’s your take-away from this whole experience: evidence that working really hard towards a goal had a big payoff. No, you didn’t win. But I know that you did even better than you’d hoped. Plus, you and I  (and the rest of our family) learned how to spell a lot of words as well as a lot of definitions to the words we just couldn’t resist knowing more about.  Like mugwump. Or leonine.

If that’s what you can carry with you from this, I’ll be happy. That lesson, that hard work is worth it, especially as you enter middle school next year, will take you farther than any spelling bee victory ever would.

Love,
Mom

2 responses to “Spelling Bee: Results

  1. so proud of him! beautiful letter 🙂

  2. Forgot I hadn’t commented on this! It really was a fun day, & I’m so glad Papa Ron & I drove over for it! As someone posted on my FB update about this, I just love it that schools still have some good, old-fashioned things like this, esp in light of the fact that “teaching cursive” is becoming obsolete, along w/ other old-fashioned methods of nearly everything! I do think there’s a lot to be learned by the discipline of memorization–of spelling words, multiplication tables, etc, etc!! So proud of Luke for taking to this task & doing such an impressive job!

Talk to me!

