JH Loses a Tooth!

Whew…MIA blogger here. Between redoing our guest room to become Bennett’s room (pictures coming soon!) and spring break, and the incredible amount of time Matt and I invested in watching the first season of Friday Night Lights on DVD, writing time has been non-existent.

Seems the easiest way to ease back into blogging is to do a little milestone post.

A couple of weeks ago, Jack Henry lost his first tooth! He was SO excited to have a loose tooth, and he worked on it quite a bit. He even had me try to pull it several times but never wanted me to pull that hard.

there it is...moved way over to the right from its original location!

there it is…moved way over to the right from its original location!

IMG_1576

Until, of course, the inevitable “it’s so loose I can’t eat anything” stage got here. Then, he asked me again to try to pull it. And on the second tug, I did! (reminder: I still HATE pulling teeth, but I hate dangling-out-of-the-gums teeth more, so I suck it up and do it.)

We ran to the bathroom to rinse, because unfortunately it was a bit of a bleeder. Which, of course, I know is normal…he was a little freaked out, kinda giggling/almost crying for a couple of minutes while rinsing and spitting. And then his face turned an all-too-familiar-to-me shade of gray, so I swooped him up (thank God I work out with weights!) and brought him to the playroom floor, where he kept himself from passing out.

I suggested texting Dad from the iPad while I got him some lemonade to celebrate, and that helped him come around pretty quickly. I’m praying this was just rookie nervousness and not a sign of things to come.

Here he is, minus one!

and there is that big gap!

and there is that big gap!

I can’t wait to see how big his permanent teeth are!

One response to “JH Loses a Tooth!

  1. Maybe I’ve said this before, but I don’t think I ever pulled any of my kids’ teeth! I was like you–it creeped me out! I guess they pulled them themselves (I’m sure the teeth were completely dangling) or they came out when kids were eating OR Ron helped!

    Glad you caught that “Bennett look” on JH before anything happened!

Talk to me!

