The 3 Piggy Opera

It’s a kindergarten tradition at my boys’ school to have the kindergartners rehearse (for weeks!) and perform the 3 Piggy Opera in the spring. Today was Jack Henry’s big day!

He was playing the role of the Brick Pig, and he nailed it, as you’ll see in this short, amateur video shot by yours truly, who was also foolishly trying to balance her camera in her other hand.

The other boys were NOT interested in solos at this age at all, so it surprised me that he wanted it. I was so proud 🙂

i love when he spots me in the audience!

i love when he spots me in the audience!

this expression...

this expression…

post-play hug for mom.  and proof that i can barely still lift him!

post-play hug for mom. and proof that i can barely still lift him!

—-

This morning, as he was getting dressed for the play, he started to cry. I asked what was wrong, and told him he looked great.

“It’s just…it’s dance party day* and I don’t want to wear a tie and my Chucks!”

Understood. Change of clothes for after the performance made everything just fine.

*afternoon celebration for good behavior

5 responses to “The 3 Piggy Opera

  1. Love it!! He did a great job too! So funny how different each child can be. Only one of mine, ( Piper) had a solo as well as the Big Bad Wolf…”I wanna big fat pig to eat….yummy yummy yummy yummy mm mm good”. And for the record, yo did an excellent job of balancing both camera and video. 🙂

  2. I’m sitting here NOT BELIEVING this is Jack Henry walking up to the microphone to SING in his school play!! I would have been way too nervous to do that at his age (or any age, singing rather than just speaking)! He walked right up there like he does it every day! Good job!

    Really wish I could have been there. 😦

  3. owensjudy@aol.com

    The video is wonderful and will be very memorable.

    Judy O

  4. That was just adorable! He didn’t look a bit nervous. 🙂

  5. he rocks! he actually has a really good voice/range, too! impressed and proud aunt here 🙂

Talk to me!

