End of the Year 2014

I can’t believe it. I can’t believe that the one year all three of my boys were in the same school building is already over.

The last several weeks have flown by in an absolute blur, and even though it’s the end of elementary school for Luke, I haven’t really been too sappy about it. He is SO READY for middle school, and I can see that. I’m excited for what next year has in store for him. Plus, I still have so many years in our elementary school that it doesn’t feel like too much of an end.

Jack Henry has been dreading the end of school. He couldn’t even make it down that rungs of his bunkbed ladder this morning before the tears started flowing. His teacher is an absolute gem, and he just hates to leave her.

Bennett has also had a fantastic teacher, one that Luke had for two years, and we like her so much we’re going to her wedding this summer! If I’m being honest, though, Bennett has been a bit of a stinker the last few weeks, and I am anxious to get him home and on our schedule. He just wants to be a baseball player, man. Sigh.

All of that to say, I’ve been doing fine. Barely any tears. Mainly just really, really excited for summer to be here. Pool. Baseball games. No crazy-early mornings. No lunch packing.

And then, this morning on my voicemail, a choked-up message from Jack Henry at school. I was actually in the school building for a couple of hours doing some work, but didn’t get the message until later. He had forgotten his yearbook; could I bring it up to school?

I ran home to get it, and had to fight back tears when I walked into the kindergarten pod. All four kindergarten classes were out in the pod having a dance party to the Frozen soundtrack. It was loud and fun and so full of joy. Kindergarten is such a happy place, and I just hate that it’s over.

However, I am so ready for a break in routine. Bring on summer!

2 responses to “End of the Year 2014

  1. I’m teary reading this because we are entering that “happy Kindergarten place”.  Yet, knowing that a year from now we’ll be where you are!

  2. You always make summer so much fun for your boys–love your summer bucket list every year! I think I was always so absorbed w/ MY OWN joy over being home for the summer that I didn’t give a lot of thought to adding to my kids’ fun! 😉 I know you all will have a busy & fun time!!

    Sharla, I remember tearing-up as I dropped Matt off for K-garten! It surprised me since he’d been to preschool for 2 years, but it just seemed different that he was starting “real” school!

Talk to me!

