Minus One

Last weekend, for the first time ever, Luke went away for the weekend on a church retreat for sixth graders. I have to admit, it was really, really weird to not have him with us… I felt like I was forgetting something all weekend.

However, it was really cool to spend some time with just the two younger boys while Luke was doing all of the Big Kid Things. Because we did not have a crazy overscheduled weekend for once, we had plenty of time to just do what we wanted.

Friday night, after Matt and I took care of the yard work and finishing up our bathroom remodel, we decided to have a bonfire in the cul-de-sac and let the boys have s’mores before dinner. Might’ve been our best decision all weekend.

IMG_3589.JPG

Saturday: early breakfast at The Shack (I’m obsessed with their berry granola pancake), a long walk on Grant’s Trail,

IMG_3652.JPG

and took some time to hang out at Grant’s Farm.

IMG_3617.JPG

IMG_3606.JPG

IMG_3608.JPG

IMG_3614.JPG

It was just so much fun for Matt and me to focus on these 2. And even better, by far, was how they got along with each other. I’ve loooong known that just removing any one of them from the mix for a while totally changes the dynamic, but it’s such a pleasant surprise to see these two getting along.

IMG_3653.JPG

By Sunday afternoon we couldn’t wait to have Luke back! He was, of course, exhausted, but full of fun stories. Growing up Catholic, I didn’t have these kinds of experiences, so I’m excited for him that he got to experience something like this with his youth group!

IMG_3640.JPG

Things are totally (eyeroll) back to normal now, with B and JH resuming their roles as oil and water. Oh well. It was sure fun while it lasted.

4 responses to “Minus One

  1. Blows my mind that Luke’s gradually but markedly been settling into pre-adolescence. So glad he got to have this weekend! Part of me loves seeing my 1st grandchild starting to “grow up,” but MOST of me wants the whole process to stop! 😦

    Such fun pics! Really love the cul de sac bonfire! B & JH can pretty-please stay under 10 yo, OK?

  2. I can’t believe that Luke is old enough to go on a sixth grade weekend retreat! That seems ridiculous! (But so much fun too!) And awesome that you got to spend some quality time with the other two. 🙂

Talk to me!

