Third Child vs. First: A School Project Comparison

Mmmkay.

A week ago, Jack Henry came home from school with an assignment I’ve seen before: the family tree. I’ve done the identical project with both of his brothers in first grade, also.

It was a typically-busy week around here, and we did a couple of things to work on the project. Jack Henry said he could decorate it however he wanted, and I remember distractedly saying “fine” several days ago while making dinner. As in, I encouraged him to do the part that he could do on his own.

Friday afternoon my sister helped him get everyone’s names on the leaves. Thank you, Hayley.

So Sunday afternoon rolled around. Guess what? I hadn’t done my part yet. And we were hosting small group in a few hours, and I had food to make and a house to clean up. Me: “do you just maybe want to draw your family members on the tree?”

That was a big no. I mean, I get it. Lame.

So we quickly chose a few pictures on the computer, including ripping a few pics off Facebook of our family members, and had them printed at Walgreens (our color printer hasn’t worked for a long time, so this is a cheap, close-by option).

I quickly cut them into rectangles for him (JH: “oh, I thought you were going to cut them into circles, but this is fine”), and we glued it all together. Done. And in time.

IMG_4193.JPG

So yeah, that’s an American flag in the tree. And a giraffe and some play-doh and some marker stamps on the trunk. I mean, whatever, man.

{I would like to point out that we included every family member (please keep this in mind as you look at the next two pictures. This is the one redeeming quality of Jack Henry’s family tree.).}

For comparison’s sake, here’s Luke’s:

IMG_4195.JPG

Normal.

And Bennett’s:

IMG_4196.JPG

Also normal. Sigh.

I swear I’m still totally plugged in.

Talk to me!

