Let’s All Be Brave.

Friday night, I had some good-for-the-soul time with two of my best girlfriends. Over dinner and a couple of drinks at one of our favorite spots, we talked and laughed for a few hours that served to recharge our batteries.

IMG_5116

here we are, reunited on sunday morning.

 

Also: it’s not a night out with me until someone has told me I’m too loud. And that happened a couple of times, which is another mark of a successful evening. What can I say…I am a tiny bit loud.

These girls, Kelli and Robin, are not just friends that I have a good time with. These are girls who know me. They know about these big, scary dreams I have for myself, and they’re supportive. Not just cheerleaders for my cause, but people who ask hard questions, pray for me and my family, and hold me accountable for the things I say I’m going to do. And I do the same for them.

They’re the girls I referred to at the end of my Maybe It’s Time post, who are also dreaming big this year. And they’re well on their way to pursuing their goals, and we are only seven weeks into the new year.  I’m kinda proud of my people.

And? I’m beyond blessed to have more than just these two in my corner. There are a select few others, too, pulling me out of my comfort zone and into this next whatever-it-is stage I’m entering.

>>>>>

On Friday morning, I saw a review for a book called “Let’s All Be Brave” by Annie Downs. I read a little more about it, and I decided it was something I needed to read. I ordered it from Amazon, and thanks to prime shipping, it was in my hands by 9:45 on Saturday morning.

The boys asked if they could watch a movie, and I readily agreed, and ran upstairs and jumped into bed to read my new book. In just a few pages, I was in tears (in addition to being kinda loud sometimes, I’m a bit of a crier, even more so recently). It’s not a sad book; it’s just that I’m feeling like I’m at this transition that’s requiring some courage, and a few of her comments read like a friend writing encouragement right to me.

Like this.

I think it’s really nice when other people remind you that you are loved.

It makes you brave.

When you know who loves you, you know your safe places. You know where you can rest. You know where you can go when you fail. (I’m sorry if I’m the first to tell you this, but brave or not, you are going to fail.) Knowing who loves you also lets you know who you can trust with you brave ideas and who will hold you accountable to being brave but not being foolish (if you let them).

Right?

I hope you have brave ideas. And that there are people right there with you.

4 responses to “Let’s All Be Brave.

  1. Your blog entry today immediately reminded me of a great song by Nicole Nordeman titled “Brave”! Thanks for being so bold…it is very
    encouraging!!

  2. I’m not a brave person. Very much a person who’s scared of change. Not adventurous!! But I love listening to (& cheering on) the dreams of young — & older — women who push themselves out of their comfort zones! So many options, lots of encouraging blogs & books, tons of info online — it’s a brave new world out there! I just love that all 3 of my girls (H, A, & you) are at different stages of work & mothering — it’s all interesting & rewarding to watch & be a part of from my perspective!

  3. We are so looking forward to having you speak at MOPS this week…and I don’t know if you were aware, but the MOPS International theme for this year is Be You, Bravely!! 🙂 I’ve seen that book online and have wondered about reading it. Feel free to post a review when you’re done with it 😉

  4. Pingback: For the Love | Here's the Diehl

Talk to me!

