Brutal Honesty.

AKA he might need to work on this before he has a girlfriend.

After school, I ran to the mailbox to grab the mail – and I do mean I ran, as the high is approximately 15 degrees today, and we all know how I feel about winter.

There was an Athleta catalog in the pile of today’s mail. I don’t even know why I get this catalog at all, since I own zero Athleta clothing items, but whatever. I do love to take a quick look at their clothes.

The first few pages were yoga clothes with super-flexible models in crazy yoga poses.

Me, to Jack Henry, who was looking over my shoulder: I know I used to be able to do some of those.

JH: Really? Are you sure?

Me (still in workout clothes from earlier workout): Yes. Remember? I used to be a dancer? I can’t do most of these anymore, but let me try this one pose… (sidenote: I did not take ballet for very many years because it was not my favorite…way too many rules and discipline involved there. Also, going 18 years without doing much in the way of working out will severely limit your former flexibility.)

He ran into the office with me, laughing that I was about to attempt this. Admittedly, a couple of them were so crazy-hard that they made me laugh and fall over when I tried them, but I was fairly close to still being able to hold this pose that as a kid/teenager, I could totally do:

IMG_5189

If I can straighten my stabilizing leg, I’ll have it. And I love a good challenge, so it’s on, Athleta catalog girl with mile-long legs. New life goal.

Poses I will not be trying, because, to quote my friend’s 8-year-old, what in the actual what?

IMG_5192

Jack Henry and I did a couple of easy poses that he knows from PE (Warrior II, Tree), and as he left the room, he said something like, “Well, you definitely aren’t a dancer anymore.”

So that about sums it up. Thanks for keepin’ it real, JH.

6 responses to “Brutal Honesty.

  1. “Grandma, why are your legs all squishy-looking?” -_-

  2. First sentence & last couple sentences — hilarious!! Kids never allow us to get too proud — ha!

  3. I am proud to say that I can still do the first picture and I can still do my splitz on both legs. Oh and I can still push up in to a bridge…..after that….um yeah. 🙂

Talk to me!

