Dear Boys of Mine, Do As We Say…

…not as we do.

Not a place I really intended to parent from, but, you know, sometimes you find yourself in situations where there is really no alternative but to utter those words.

For me, it’s been with my tattoos. I’ve told the boys repeatedly that when they’re fully grown ups (I’m going to go ahead and put myself solidly in this category), they can make choices like I did, but that no one better walk in the door at 18 with a skull and crossbones inked on his body. Matt has jokingly/not jokingly said that this is all on me, and he’s right.

And then Matt went and added his own example to the “not as I do” list last week.

He had a conference in NYC. His original flight on Monday was cancelled due to stormy weather on the east coast; he worked that morning to secure an alternate route, which ended up connecting through DC instead of being a direct flight.

Long story short: hours of delay on the tarmac in DC, with the flight eventually being cancelled. While Matt was trying to figure out what to do, a guy approached him about riding to NYC in the car he’d rented. Initially Matt wasn’t in; I mean, weird. But when another guy sitting close by said he was starting his new job in NYC tomorrow and he’d ride with the guy with the car, Matt decided to join them.

So yes. He drove 4+ hours in bad weather in the middle of the night with 2 strangers WHOSE LAST NAMES HE DID NOT EVEN GET (men, I tell you…3 women in a car together would have been Facebook friends before the end of the first hour).

So to my boys: we still do NOT get in cars with strangers. Ever.

The end.

One response to “Dear Boys of Mine, Do As We Say…

  1. Paragraph beginning “So yes.”!!!!!!!!!!!! For the love!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜ฏ๐Ÿ˜„

Talk to me!

