Milestone. 

I know. I haven’t blogged in a sweet forever, and then I post the slightly-ridiculous following story. But give me a break…it’s the end of the school year and I’m soaking up my last moments of freedom. 

However, this is noteworthy and deserves recording, particularly when you are the mom of several. (Jack Henry overheard me say several, and he said, “You’re only the mom of 3,” to which I replied, “It sometimes feels like a lot, ok?”)

Anyway. Three paragraphs in, the whole point of this post is the following: Jack Henry just clipped his own fingernails. This is huge, as it’s a job I’ve despised for years. 12.5, to be exact, which is how long I’ve been a mom, and how long ago I first clipped Luke’s newborn fingernails and made him bleed. Just the other night I asked myself how much longer I might be doing this, so I’m really glad I got my answer so quickly. 

There are some things I miss about having really little kids, but this definitely won’t be one of them. Here’s to big kids with self-care skills. 

Talk to me!

