For the Love

You guys. I got invited to Jen Hatmaker‘s house for a huge party. HER HOUSE. This is not a dream I had, it’s real life. Unfortunately, I can’t go and meet 200 of my newest friends, who will be there for the party.

Are you confused yet?

Five-ish months ago, I was chosen to be part of a group of 496 women+4 men (we call them the #bandoffour) who got the privilege of helping Jen launch her newest book, For the Love. The launch team has its own Facebook page, and the craziest thing has happened, far beyond what I ever imagined (and from what Jen has said, far beyond what she could have imagined, either)…this absolutely incredible community has formed. I mean, true, amazing friendships have developed, and the idea of a launch party at Jen’s house came about. So literally, she invited the whole launch team to her house, and around 200 are attending. Isn’t that just so cool?

And how much do I wish I lived closer to Austin, TX, so I could go???

So here’s where I tell you about this book. And why you absolutely must read it. I feel like I won’t be able to do it justice in this one post, but I’m going to try. Some of my favorite quotes have been turned into cute graphics, so I’m going to just stick them in here between paragraphs so you get an extra little sampling of this gem.

ftl9

(Here’s where I’m totally struggling and have restarted this paragraph several times. I don’t even know where to begin.) This book is for anyone who has ever felt overwhelmed by life and what you think is expected of you. It’s for someone who has lived in church and community well, and for those who have been burned by their church and community. It’s for people who want to love others better, parent more effectively, and live out what it means to show Jesus (not religion – and to that end, this quote: “If it isn’t also true for a poor single Christian mom in Haiti, it isn’t true.” Curious? You need to read this.) to the world and our families.

ftl6

There are sections that have been a huge inspiration to me as I figure out this tricky transition from SAHM to wife-and-mom-with-some-kind-of-a-job. (More on that here and here if you’re new here.) It’s been an interesting year for me, and I’ll be writing more about that soon, but in the meantime, know that this quote from the book lodged itself very deeply in my brain:

I don’t like when people minimize their gifts. There is a difference between humility and insecurity, and self-effacement does no one any favors. We teach our watching children to doubt and excuse and diminish themselves. Do we want our kids to reflect on their mothers and have absolutely no idea what we loved? What we were good at? What got our pulses racing and minds spinning? Don’t we want them to see us doing what we do best?

ftl1

Oh, and it is FREAKING HILARIOUS. If you follow Jen on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, you already know how funny she is. This book will make you laugh until you cry several times. She’s invented new words (horsecrappery) and phrases (you’ll be saying “that’s off the beam!” after reading this). There is an entire chapter on fashion concerns (tights are not pants, the whole underwear-with-workout pants debacle, high-waisted jeans…).

ftl7

And several short Jimmy-Fallon-style Thank You Note chapters.

ftl3

 

Have I convinced you yet? Buy this book. You’ll love it and want to share with your friends. Promise.

7 responses to “For the Love

  1. I never downloaded (uploaded?–I never know which word is correct!) the PDF version that I qualified for; I really just wanted to wait & read the “real book”! I’m sooooo ready to dig in as soon as it arrives!

    Wish you could attend Jen’s party!! When is it? I know it’s not exactly free (money-wise & time-wise), & I know we can’t do everything we want, but wowee–how awesome it would be!!! Remember I’m available to come to your house & hold down the fort! 😉

    • The launch party is September 5th…thanks for offering to help here! I’m traveling twice this fall already, so this one is just a no, unfortunately!

  2. I need to read this book if only for the part about underwear with workout pants debate! I’m on the fence.

    Also, I’m curious about what you have planned for this year. I’m guessing it has something to do with writing and blogging?!?

    All three of you ladies are such an inspiration to use girls (the word women makes us sound so old!) who are one small step behind you!

    • Jen and I have different opinions on the workout pants/underwear debate…hahaha!

      Working on new blog post now with more info!

      And thank you for the sweet compliment 🙂

  3. Pingback: To Quote Jen Hatmaker… | Here's the Diehl

  4. Pingback: On Fire. | Here's the Diehl

  5. Pingback: On Fire. – tuddffjv

Talk to me!

