Twice This Week…

…I’ve felt out of my league parenting the boys.

First, it was doing math homework with Luke. I knew the answer (!!!) but couldn’t explain it. Like at all. And “you just have to believe me” wasn’t cutting it for some reason.

>>>

(A little background: Jack Henry recently tested into the gifted program, called Mosaics. He goes to a different classroom for about 3 hours every Friday with a few other second graders.)

This morning I woke Jack Henry at 6:20 like I do every school day (most mornings I have just rolled out of bed myself). He generally wakes up happy, but this was new:
Me: “good Friday morning! Time to get up! It’s Mosaics day!”
Him, immediately: “yay! And we get extra strategic thinking time today because Mrs. S was out last week!”
Me: confused face, thinking I don’t even know what you just said, but if that gets you out of bed quickly to get ready, whatever. It’s so early I can’t even decode yet why that would be exciting.

>>>

Bennett: please do not feel left out because you aren’t included in this post. We can high-five each other over the fact that we bought you new shoes yesterday and neither of us lost our minds.

Talk to me!

