Where Were You?

I got this at Kasey’s blog and thought it was interesting…Where were you???

Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster – January 28, 1986
I was in 3rd grade, and clearly remember my teacher wheeling in a television on a cart so that we could watch what was happening. Of course, this was the shuttle that school kids had learned so much about since it was carrying a teacher. I just remember watching it over and over again.

The Oklahoma City Bombing – April 19, 1995
This one is a very vivid memory for me, as I was a senior in high school. I remember seeing it on television when I got home from school, and the next day, discussing in my communications class how it might be related to Waco/David Koresh (which I also remember watching in my literature class). This picture of fireman Chris Fields carrying a lifeless Baylee Almon always makes me cry, and for me, is THE picture that signifies that event.

Princess Diana’s Death – August 31, 1997
Beginning of my junior year in college, living in an apartment with three girlfriends. I remember watching coverage forever, just because it was on.

Attack on the Twin Towers – September 11, 2001
Of course, this is the “where were you when JFK was shot?” moment of our generation. I remember everything about that day! It was beautiful outside, crisp and cool with bright blue skies. I woke up and laid in bed listening to the radio…you see, I had nothing to do that day because I was unemployed at the time. I’d just recently finished my job as a private tutor for a preschooler with autism, and I was looking to do something different. Thus, I was home. Alone. For days and days of nonstop coverage. I remember after the second tower was hit, and then the Pentagon, that people started warning there could be more planes. I called Matt at work, as he works in a high-rise building downtown, and asked if he could come home…it just didn’t seem safe for him to be there. I also remember going out to fill up the car with gas and to get a few groceries; I’m not sure why. I guess everything just seemed so uncertain. Everyone just had this look of dread and disbelief on their faces. It’s crazy to me that it’s been 7 years ago. I remember seriously wondering in the aftermath if I wanted to have kids and bring them into a world that contained people capable of this.

Space Shuttle Columbia Disaster – February 1, 2003
I was laying in bed with a not-quite-2-month-old Luke, who I think had a bit of a cold. It was a Saturday morning, and he and I laid there all morning watching the coverage.

So, where were you when these things happened? Feel free to answer in the comments or use this for your blog, too…just leave me a comment that you’ve done that so I can be sure to check out your answers!

10 responses to “Where Were You?

  1. I did my own remebrance today, only it focused mainly on Sep. 11. Thanks for sharing your own memories.

  2. I don’t remember where I was for the Challenger disaster. I was too young I guess.

    Oklahoma bombing – I also was a senior in high school. I just remember hearing that there was a day care being held at the bottom of the building and knowing that there is no way they could have survived. I will never forget feeling for those parents.

    Princess Diana’s death – I was living with my grandmother in Rockford for the summer. She would watch every minute of the coverage and let me know what was going on since I was at work.

    Attack on twin towers- I had a history test in college that day. I thought I would get a little more studying done in the morning, with the TV on of course, and saw the coverage. I remember seeing the second plane hit and in total disbelief. I don’t remember taking the test that day, but I remember that every one of us failed it and the teacher asked what was going on? I told him I know my head was not on history but the present that day and he threw out the test because he agreed.

  3. JFK — I was around for that but too young to remember it.

    Challenger — at work. Later that day I went to turn in my notice to my apartment complex that I would be moving in a month. I was getting married in about 6 weeks.

    Oklahoma — I had little people, ages 5 and 3, and I didn’t usually have the TV on during the day. I did for a while that day, though.

    Diana — I don’t remember exactly where I was but I remember being really weirded out by the whole thing. Diana and I were born the same year so her death felt extra weird. We were the same age so it just seemed way too young for her.

    9/11 — the girls and I were doing school work when my mom called and told me to turn on the TV. The TV then didn’t go off for the rest of the day. We moved our school work to the family room so that we could watch there. I did have the girls go do some stuff away from the family room after a while because it was way too overwhelming and they were pretty young (11 and 9).

  4. Diana-Mike and I had just come back from our honeymoon and were in Oregon looking for a place to live. The saved paper is in our wedding time capsule.

    9/11-I was driving to Columbia and Jefferson City for booking appointments. Heard it while listening to the radio. My friend, Brad, called and told me to turn around and go home.! I’ll never forget it.

    It’s sad but I have no recollection of the others.

  5. JFK – it was my last day of working at Southwest Bank in St. L. Another employee who was always joking around told me and i didn’t believe her. Drove home to my apt. in a daze.

    ‘Challenger – I was walking down the stairs at NMSD and a staff member running up said, “It exploded!” I guess I knew right away what she meant.

    9/11 – Ric and I were having breakfast out and he heard people talking. Couldn’t determine just what it was but said, “Something happened”. It was probably still happening at that time. We went home immediately and turned on the TV

  6. Challenger – I was in 6th grade and was in the cafeteria and they wheeled in tv’s and we sat in there for awhile watching the coverage.

    OK Bombing – I remember seeing it on tv but the late 90’s are a blur for me; sadly.

    Princess DI- In John’s truck on the way home from a gig at like 4am heard it on the radio and didnt turn the tv off for days. We stayed up the whole next day watching it. Still watch the specials.

    9/11 I was teaching preschool at St. John’s in Eff. and was already at school. Parents came in with bits of info. Sat and watched it for days. Although I wasn’t one of those suckers who went and bought gas.

  7. I posted answers on my blog. All are pretty vivid except for the OK City bombing. I was in school at the time so I couldn’t really remember…

  8. JFK Assassination: I was in 7th grade. We were coming in from lunch-recess, and the news was starting to circulate in the hallways. As soon as we were all in our classrooms, the principal came over the intercom to announce it. Of course, at that time, we didn’t have TVs in school, so as soon as we all got home, we were glued to the screen.

    Challenger: I was still teaching over at T-Town and monitored a study hall in the library one period. We had a TV in there, and the room was crowded with kids watching it. It was just horribly stunning.

    OK Bombing: Strangely, I can’t specifically remember hearing it. I was still teaching at T-Town that spring, so I’m sure it quickly spread throughout the school.

    Princess Di: I just remember hearing the first news telling about the accident – but she had either not died yet or this had not been released. The severity of the accident brought about grim speculation in the media of what her condition would be. Then it wasn’t long until the news of her death was revealed. It reminded me so much of the time following JFK’s death.

    9/11: I was working in the Guid. Dept. at Effingham H.S. The news sifted down from the main office to turn our TVs on. I can’t remember exactly what had already happened at that point, but I think the 2nd tower had just been hit. We were all just in a daze, not really knowing what was going on but slowly realizing the magnitude as things unfolded. I was extremely afraid for Heidi up in Chicago.

  9. Nicole – I’m impressed by your memory of the challenger. I don’t remember that at all.

    I vaguely remember the OK bombing and watching it at home.

    Princess Diana – I was in a hotel room for our first tennis away matches of that year for college. The girls and I were glued to the screen if we weren’t on the courts playing.

    9/11 – I was working for Sigma in downtown STL right by the brewery and the government mapping agency. It was crazy with security by our building b/c of being right next to the mapping agency. I just remember watching it on a small TV in one of the conference rooms basically all day.

    Columbia – I was newly pregnant with Andrew and we were starting to discuss the move to Indiana….can’t believe it’s been that long since we’ve lived here!

Talk to me!