WFMW: Making Desserts Last

I guess the best place to start this post is to say, “Hi, I’m Nicole, and I have no self-control if there is dessert in the house.” Whew. I feel better already.

In order to not gain 5 pounds every time there’s something sweet here, I’ve come up with a solution that totally works for me. Anytime I bake anything that we’re keeping here (I love to bake stuff and then give it away, too), almost all of it goes into the freezer that same day. If it’s brownies, they’re cut into small pieces, so that when someone wants one, it’s ready to go in the microwave for a few seconds to defrost. Cookies work really well like this, as does this carrot cake and this sheet cake, thank you Pioneer Woman! Actually, I need to thank my mother-in-law. She baked both of them and brought them to me!

I don’t do well with deprivation; therefore, any diet of mine will always include access to sweets. Just a small amount of them instead of an entire row of sheet cake.

For more of what works, go to Rocks in my Dryer.

9 responses to “WFMW: Making Desserts Last

  1. Great idea! I think I will try this.. I always forget I can do this.. it is so much better to keep them out of site isn’t it? lol

    thanks for sharing.

  2. Hmmmm – just need to stop the nibbling while I would be cutting it up and freezing, Will definitely give this a go.

    Going to check out that PW chocolate recipe too.

  3. Oh my. You can give it to me. I will eat it for you so you don’t have to keep it in the house. I love chocolate.
    Thanks for the Ideals.

  4. This is a great idea. I havea problem with sweets too. Brian does not like sweets that much so it makes it even harder to have them in the house. I wil have to remember this when Iwant to make something with Kaylee.

  5. good idea!
    every x-mas i make my favorite cookie-things in the entire world…and have to give them away. if i don’t, i would eat each and every one until i was sick.

  6. i love the pioneer woman. she has great recipes and even better giveaways.

  7. This is why I virtually never make a dessert unless someone is coming; then I can send leftovers with people! I honestly don’t think I even have the self-control to put the portions in the freezer!

    This is also why it’s so great to enjoy dessert at bridge club – I only get one piece, and no one takes 2nds!

  8. This might just be the solution for my boys. They always seem to beat me to the sweet stuff so I have really cut back on making it. Does it still taste as fresh I wonder?

  9. Most stuff still tastes pretty good when it’s thawed or defrosted!

Talk to me!