Double Whammy

AKA God’s Test for How Much You Love Your Kids.

Yes, I’m awake at 2:41 am. And, I’ve just had a shower. No, not because Matt and I were out partying like rockstars last night (thank you God we got that out of our systems while we were young). It’s because I was washing the puke out of my hair. Not my own puke, mind you, but Luke’s.

Luke had a hard time falling asleep last night and he should have been exhausted…a few days with Nana Jo here, the boys were up later than normal most nights, and a long day of playing at home capped off by a movie and shower and storytime and bed…the perfect recipe to just fall asleep immediately!

He woke up with “bad dreams” and started throwing up about a hour ago. My only goal was to keep him from puking on Bennett, who was lying below him (those of you who know what their beds look like know that this is tricky), and I was mainly successful in that endeavor, but he did manage to create – and I’m not exaggerating here – probably 6 8 loads of laundry with all he hit. Yay.

The “Double Whammy” in the title is that Bennett, who was awoken by the commotion, started the stridor breathing that goes along with croup (the last several times he’s had croup it’s not been much coughing; just a night or two of stridor). So Matt had to take on the croup duties (sit in steamy bathroom for 10 minutes, outside in the cold for 10 minutes) while I cleaned up. B has apparently not gotten the memo that most kids outgrow croup BY age 3.

Of course, our plans today included seeing my dad and sister, and going to look at potential houses with my brother Zach and his wife. And going to see the Swinigans’ new baby girl! None of which will happen.

The good news is I will probably lose about 5 lbs. in the next few days whether I get sick or not…when one of the kids gets a stomach virus, I try not eat much of anything in case I get it, plus I always just feel a bit nauseous waiting for the next one to get it…

Wish me luck.

8 responses to “Double Whammy

  1. Yuck. So much yuck. And can someone *paleeze* explain why that almost always happens at night. in bed. all over bedding. 😦

    I had croup when I was young. My last episode was when I was 9 years old and I remember it very clearly. I’d not gotten that “done by age 3” memo either apparently. 😦

    I’ll pray that the pukies stop at Luke and that Bennett gets over this current bout with croup quickly.

  2. oh no.
    i hope that stomach virus doesn’t get passed on to the rest of the family.

  3. Ew, I don’t envy you right about now. I really hope you don’t get the bug. Then who will take care of you and everything else that needs to get done? I think mom’s should be excluded from the flu. Who do we send that request to?

  4. Awww. . . bummer. 😦 I hope you guys are able to sneak some rest in today.

  5. Oh girl…Oh my!! Keep washing your hands!!! It’s impossible to not kiss all over their poor little heads when they are sick and puny, isn’t it?!

  6. I can’t believe it. I most SINCERELY hope that the rest of you don’t get sick, and hopefully, it will be a quick recovery for Luke. I agree w/ jmlange–it’s a great mystery of life that the barfing virtually always starts in the middle of the night.

    Hope there’s some napping going on today–and not just for Jack Henry–and a good night’s sleep tonight.

  7. Oh, so sorry! What a bummer. I hope everyone gets well quickly. Winter stinks!

  8. If you need anything let me know. Get some rest so you don’t come down with something also.

Talk to me!