Someone, Please, Hold Me Accountable.

OK, first of all: earlier today, I published my 1,111th post on 1.11.11…is that a crazy coincidence or what???

—–
Confession: our basement is a disaster. The finished area is ok; the kids can play down there without having to dodge boxes and such, but all of the unfinished areas are a hot mess. There’s no two ways about it. This house has ample storage, but we are not using it to its fullest, and it’s starting to make me crazy. And crazy overwhelmed. So I’m tackling it. Because (whispering) I haven’t really done anything with it since we moved in. NINE months ago.

I took some pictures a couple of weeks ago, and honestly, it’s gotten worse since these pictures were taken. Christmas stuff was taken down, and I didn’t worry about it being put away because I’m not sure yet where its permanent home will be. Also, I am a hoarder of shipping boxes. Why? Because for lots of years I’ve sold stuff on ebay, and there’s nothing more annoying as a seller than having something to ship and nothing to ship it in (plus, I’m cheap, and I don’t want to spend my profit buying boxes). So I keep a good amount of the boxes that get shipped to my house, and they are in disarray and consuming too much space.

I have an ever-growing amount of crafting stuff, and some plans about where to house all of it, but with the general disarray of everything else, I can’t use the little space I have and I certainly can’t even think about bringing in more storage in the form of shelves/boxes/baskets until I get a grip on what’s already here.

I’ve got a donation truck coming by on January 20th to haul away some of our old treasures, so I want to get through a lot of this stuff by then.

GOALS:
1. I have a large garage sale pile and a large donate pile, and I want to keep them in a place where we can easily add to the piles.
2. Make the boxes not be a huge mess.
3. Get the extra housewares stuff put away in the wet bar area (not done yet b/c there are no shelves in the cabinets).
4. Organize craft storage area (probably still won’t have an actual work space, but I’ll deal).
5. Organize holiday/seasonal decorations.
6. Get rid of a bunch of crap treasures.

Without further adieu, I bring you: THE MESS.

Ask me about it. Hound me for updates on my progress. I’ve given myself until the end of February (which sounds ridiculous, I know, but with kids who are constantly sick I’ve had less time than I’d like to work on stuff like this, so I’d much rather overachieve than under).

I feel better already, since I started earlier today with some minor organizing and already found a few things that we can easily part with.

Go team! Er, wait. It’s just me. Go me!!

9 responses to “Someone, Please, Hold Me Accountable.

  1. Our storage area in the basement is HORRIBLE! Maybe we should tag team it – except I don’t think 2 people would fit in ours!! Maybe you getting yours organized will be motivation for me!!

  2. Just dive right in there. 🙂 Good luck. BTW – I think every house has a space like that.

  3. Good Luck! We desperately need to do ours as well. It’s out of control. Right now, I’m trying to go through all of our boys clothes and organize that so I can give it to my sister…..those tubs are all over the basement. I might get those done before you come over Saturday, but I might not. 🙂 Depends on how the week goes. ha! Can’t wait to see after pics and how you organize everything!

  4. Yeah, that’s bad.
    I’m only kidding! I thought maybe I would go against the grain and try the ‘motivation by shame’ approach of encouragement!
    Knowing I’m not in the my-unfinished-basement-is-scary-unorganized-at-the-moment boat alone was encouraging for me just now. Yet I’m motivated by shame just enough myself that knowing you are about to do something about it kind of makes me want to play along! Basement, here I come…
    Well, maybe!

  5. Wow! That is a great space. Just think about how awesome it is going to be when you are finished organizing it! I have absolutely no storage, so I am jealous. 🙂

  6. So funny about the boxes. Exactly four days ago I said to Mike, “We are absolutely not allowed to save any more boxes…they’re taking over our basement!” To which he replied, “But they’re so useful and you never know when you’ll need a good box.” We have several in every size imaginable! Good luck on your basement organizing project. It’s going to look great!

  7. Yes – go you! And the good news is that you DO have more cupboards and space than most people – it’s just a matter of how you want to use it. You will LOVE your home 500 million times more when you have this done! Promise!

  8. Hey we can help each other! 😉

Talk to me!